Hi guys.

MadOnion

:
Mazda Protege5
I have been creeping your forum for a few weeks now ever since I picked up my 2002 MP5. Its my first Mazda (unless you count my ford ranger (doh)) I already did the intake mod by cutting out some of that plastic on the grill. Thanks for that link in another new Mazda thread well worth the time. Now I bought my car off some people who managed to quite the Alt belt right up until they left with my money. No noise on the test drive everything sounded and ran pretty good and my old lady can't drive standard so thats a plus. Anyway I have been watching videos on how to replace this belt and it looks like i'll have to take off the power steering and ac belt to get the alt/water pump belt on. I took it to a shop and they said I had to take a motor mount off and tip the engine and I haven't seen that in the videos... my mechanical knowledge is amateur at best but I was wondering if there is an easier way to do this and if you guys know a way I can make my hands smaller.(boom03)

No need to do anything with the engine mounts.

The power steering belt is pretty easy to deal with, just loosen the two bolts that hold it on and then loosen the tensioner bolt. The steps are better outlined in the factory service manual, which I will leave at the end of this post.

For the alternator, crawl underneath and loosen the 14mm (?) pinch bolt on the bottom of the alt. Then remove the cruise control actuator (large circular component near passenger side of strut brace, held on with 2 10mm nuts) and you can reach the alternator tensioner bolts pretty easily from above. This belt needs to be very tight to not squeal.

Check the belts for cracks and wear, and spin both the alternator and water pump pulleys. They rotate smoothly and without any lateral movement.

Service Manual:
http://web.archive.org/web/20061223062340/http://protege5.ugly.net/