Where's the radiator water going?

:
CX5 GT
I'm dealing with a 2016.5 CX-5. 117K miles.

The water level in the radiator is dropping. Maybe 16 oz. per a few hundred miles. Mechanic doesn't know where it's going. He pressure tested without finding a leak. He wants to replace hoses. Stands to reason if hoses were bad, it would've leaked during the test, right? No leaks are visible after driving it.

Also the level in the recovery tank is at normal full. He doesn't know why it isn't refilling the system.

Other than finding a new mechanic, the mystery is where the water's going? This doesn't sound normal to me. I'm a pretty mechanical kind-of-guy. but I wasn't a mechanic by trade.

Thanks for any suggestions.

In this situation, it appears that the amount of water added to the radiator, in the number of miles driven, that there'd be some evidence. Such as in milky looking oil? Or? The oil looks normal.

There are 2 types of fluid leaks: viscous & permeation.
Both leave a trail.
With that high odometer reading, this vehicle should be on at least its 2nd set of soft hoses ..... so, do you have the maintenance records?

If the coolant recovery/overflow bottle level isn't fluctuating, the system's airtight integrity is gone - so start by checking both caps, all connections & hoses for residue, stains, drips, etc.

It's also possibly a permeation leak in the radiator or any hose, a leaky heater core, a cracked head, or failing head gasket as well, so perhaps do a compression test ....... & while they're out - check all 4 spark plugs for color consistency: if any 1 plug is extremely clean, you've found the leaky "hole".
If so, please be advised that there's only 1 way to repair it.
G' luck!

Last edited:
Thanks @PTSanchez. Need to start checking things.

It's my gal's car since new. They're original hoses.

Is the repair of the heads? Engine removal?

Last edited:
That's some good life for OE soft hoses!