Thinking about WRX 440's

Boilermaker19

:
2003.5 Mazdaspeed Protege
Looks like I can get my hands on some used WRX 440's pretty cheap, but I don't know if it would work well with my set-up. I've got the stock turbo, but I do have FMIC, 3" exhaust turbo back, and an SSAFC. Just starting to get my hands dirty on this one, and the injectors may sit on a shelf for a while, but it seems like a pretty good deal if I can support it. The previous owner gave me a box with the original pistons in it, so I'm assuming I have upgraded internals, but I am not sure to what degree. I've seen comments here saying bigger injectors are unnecessary unless you're running a bigger turbo. Also, total Newbie question: Does the SSAFC control boost pressure, or does it merely sense boost pressure? I don't appear to have any external boost control, and I'm running 9 pounds.

The only way to 'control' boost pressure is with an MBC or EBC and even then you can only raise boost not lower it. With the replacement ATP wastegate 9psi is normal, and if you do have forged internals you can run much more than that, however 16-18psi is the limit of how much air this little turbo can push (if you have the stock T25). I would pick up the injectors and have them cleaned at a shop, and when you are ready to crank up the boost, install them and tune the AFC to run them. Custom tuning would be highly recommended though, the 440cc injector tunes on this site are only to be used as a baseline, every car is different.