Retro-fitting Satellite Radio

bacarl

Hey guys, the answer to my question may be found on a Sirius site or some such place, but I'm an electronics/audio newb and figured I'd go for direct feedback:

My stock head unit has a Sat Radio button, but I didn't order the option with my car. After having spent considerable time in a Sirius-equipped car, I decided I'm addicted. What kind of undertaking is it to retrofit my radio with Sirius?

I'm guessing the groundwork is already laid, since the headunit is obviously set up for satellite; I don't know if my car already has an antenna; the dealership quoted me >$500 to install the option, so I say they can go get f'd (lol2)

Thanks for any feedback!

It is really easy.
You need the receiver, antenna, and a cable. You will have to pull the deck to see what cable you need.
Is it equipped for Sirius or XM? My experience, Sirius needs a 13-pin connector. It is the same cable as you would run for a CD changer. All of my stuff was made by Kenwood, so it bolted right in. A little more info would help.
Give me the radio brand, take a pic of the back of the deck, and it should be really easy.
BTW, what channel you like on Sirius?

I'm guessing it's equipped for Sirius, just since it's a Ford brand? Someone who paid for the option could confirm...

The radio is my original equipment, big ass stock Mazda radio, but I like it so I plan to keep it. Plus it already has that nice big SAT button that I keep wanting to push.

A pic of the back will take some time..maybe this weekend if I have time for that little project. Come to think of it I could probably find a pic posted on here; I'll go look.

I listened to AltNation21 mostly, but I found tons of stations that I liked, that's why I want it back! The other Sirius-equipped vehicle was a company car that I had to return yesterday.

Yeah, I will try to find which it is equipped for. It shouldnt be much either way. Same components are needed.