Rear hatch glass shattered suddenly for no reason 2023 CX-5 Signature Turbo

Was this like the NorCal Bay Area breal-in special? :rolleyes::oops:
Atlanta! We had nothing in the car. They hit 30+ vehicles in the hotel parking lot overnight. It was a great way to start the day considering we were there to bring my daughter to the aquarium for her birthday 🤦‍♂️ got some 10 mil plastic sheeting and clear packaging tape, rolled into that aquarium on time and in style.

I love this stuff.
FWIW I also love troubleshooting and finding root causes. Early in my career with the Navy, I got involved with mishap investigations when there were aircraft engine problems that our fleet maintainers could not solve. It was a dream job for a motorhead like me and the most fun I have had in my career. Like you, I do quality assurance now. I'm a consultant to NASA. We don't have the equivalent of DCMA embedded with our commercial partners like SpaceX and Blue Origin.

It is interesting the issue is brought up today. There have been many instances of failed moonroofs on the forums - this is the first time I have read about failed rear hatch glass. Personally, I think it IS a manufacturers issue (defect). I would definitely speak to Mazda corporate about it as it should be covered on such a new car. I can understand a windshield not being covered if it cracks from being hit, but the rear hatch glass? I guess there is always a possibility something struck it you weren't aware of?