How *I* jack up my Mazda3 to get all 4 wheels in the air

flatlander937

:
'11 Mazda2 Sport
Just recently moved into a new house with an awesome garage(though I am still lacking my big toolbox and many special tools which are still at a friend's shop that I've been working out of for the last 2 years...) so that means I can walk right outside and work on my car without being a pain in my friend's ass or rotating tires outside when his garage is full of piece of s*** cars that drove in but now need pushed out(whistle)

I have an auto-x event coming up this weekend and wanted to rotate my tires. Also I just picked up a 2 ton aluminum floor jack from Harbor freight(http://www.harborfreight.com/2-ton-lightweight-aluminum-racing-jack-with-rapid-pump-68051.html) and two pairs of 3-ton jack stands. Harbor Freight is not the highest quality stuff ever, but given that everything at Sears is now made of Ching Chong parts it's not like Craftsman is any better now. I'm frankly REALLY impressed with the jack I got... time will tell how it holds up, though I did leave it jacking up the rear diff of my Jeep overnight about 3in off the ground overnight to test the seals and make sure they wouldn't start leaking... it still works. Nicest thing about this jack is it is LIGHT at just over 40lbs... if I decide to run R-comps for auto-x then it will be pretty easy to toss in the trunk to take along.

Onto the main topic though: I want to jack the car up safely, quickly, and without damaging anything on the car... importance in that order.

Obviously I take no responsibility for anything you mess up on your own car... this is how I do this. FWIW I am an automotive technician who's been working on cars for going on 7 years so I know a bit about what I'm doing.