FD Reliability?

DE31

In search for a life.
:
Pee 2+3
okay i love the FD and i'm somewhat interested in buying one but everyone knows its unreliable. just wondering what people on this forum think. how unreliable are the FDs and should i even consider it?

VERY. my friend bought one that got the entire drivetrain replaced with brand new parts, done by the dealership. (The previous owner did it) and its already breaking. 1000 miles maybe

I've been doing some calculations and I can afford to keep my p5 as a daily driver....

The problem is I'm a student, and student + the amount of time i work now does not work that well. I have been calling for days off on random since technically, i don't need all the money i make right now. If I do commit myself to the FD, I lose my option of calling the day off without stressing over payments.

Financially I can afford to get the FD and keep my p5 in case something breaks, but that leads to the problem of if I want to do that. I love the FD, its a beautiful car, but if it does break as much as everyone leads it to, I'm not sure I want it. I know it will break someday, which is when I'd probably get an ls1 swap, but I don't want to have it break a month or so after I buy it.

*edit* I just capitalized a few words, and added some commas here and there, in an attempt to make my posts seem more intellectual.

Last edited:
If you want to do it, then do it. Take your time and find one that has no mods and the owner kept good records of maintainence. If they were treated right they would treat you right. But please, PLEASE.... keep the pistons out of her. IMHO it insults the RX and it's history.

LOL, I love how people who've never owned an FD stumble over themselves to chime in on it's reliabilty.:rolleyes: Still there is some truth there....