Can I run 4 speakers + sub off one amp

I'm new to car audio and I'm looking to add some bass. All I want to do right now is add an amp and a sub. For now I'll leave in my stock front and rear speakers, which will be powered by the head unit (Pioneer DEH-P5000UB).

In the future though, I might want to replace all the speakers and power them with an amp. Can I get an amp that can power 4 speakers + a sub, so that when I get better speakers I don't need to get another amp? If so, what kind of amp would this be, a 5 channel? Would I be better off just getting a mono amp right now and then getting a 4 channel later?

I don't listen to music extremely loud. In fact, the stock system could go more than loud enough aside from lacking bass.

The thing is, a mono amp + 4 channel amp is gonna have waaaaaayyy more power than I need, since I don't need my system to be that loud. It kind of seems like a waste of money to go that route. What about getting a 4 channel amp, using 2 channels to power the front speakers, another channel to power the sub, and then having the rear speakers powered by the HU. Has anyone done this, or are 4 channel amps just not ideal for powering subs?

Last edited:
You can do it. I've got a 6 channel amp in my wife's car. It's powering the 6.5's front and back with tweeters and a ten inch sub. All off a 600 watt amp.

If you just want some bass, I'd do a mono amp. You can get em dirt cheap. Then, when you want to upgrade, sell off the mono amp and get the good stuff later

Tylor

The thing is, a mono amp + 4 channel amp is gonna have waaaaaayyy more power than I need, since I don't need my system to be that loud. It kind of seems like a waste of money to go that route. What about getting a 4 channel amp, using 2 channels to power the front speakers, another channel to power the sub, and then having the rear speakers powered by the HU. Has anyone done this, or are 4 channel amps just not ideal for powering subs?

Common misconception right there.