Buying a speed 3: What to look for.

GriggSpeed

:
Searching for my 3
Hey fellas,
I'm brand new to the mazda scene. I've been driving toyota MR2's for about 7 years and am looking to get a hold of a newer more practical yet still sexy car. Enter the Speed 3. I'm planning on going all out here in getting the performance 3 but I dont want to jump into a money pit or a time bomb. That said, What are some of the big things I need to look for. Potential red flags? Ideally I'm looking for an 07-09 Mazdaspeed3 sport. I figure beyond that the features are excessive. This will be my biggest investment to date. I appreciate you're advice.

be wary of the 07's...that was the first production year. and like ANY other vehicle in their first year there were some issues, mainly the motor mounts

that being said, i think by now any problems with the 07's should have been taken care of by the previous owner(s) either by way of tsb, warranty, or personally. that could have been before or after the "problem" arose

i would say do your research on the specific car you're looking at and not so much the model overall. there could be 1000 good ms3's out there, but you pick the 1 super bad lemon of whatever lot you find it at because you bought it from a fly-by-night place and it was a salvaged car.

look around this forum and you will find ppl that have blown 2 or 3 engines, and then you'll find someone else (like me) who has had none of the major issues and is now past all factory warranty because of mileage

Thats good to know. I've already checked a couple other mazda forums but neither are really accessible. I did however find a useful buyer checklist thread. Many people I've talked to about the MS3's with have generally told me that the high strung motors blow easily. I'm hoping for the best and I plan to have a powertrain "warranty" in place. I'll be realistically looking in spring. Wish me luck.