2014 CX-9 front blower motor only works intermittently

Hello all, I’m new to this form, so thank you in advance for your advice. I’ve read several posts on what seem to be issues similar to mine. My front climate control fan will not come on reliably - only intermittently. The rear fan seems to work fine.

I’ve seen prior post about the fan, motor, relays, blower motor resistor, which is located near the cabin, air filter, and even replacing the fan motor itself. However, several prior posts did not include a final message as to what resolve the problem. Can anyone summarize how they were able to resolve this? Thanks again.

Hello all, I’m new to this form, so thank you in advance for your advice. I’ve read several posts on what seem to be issues similar to mine. My front climate control fan will not come on reliably - only intermittently. The rear fan seems to work fine.

I’ve seen prior post about the fan, motor, relays, blower motor resistor, which is located near the cabin, air filter, and even replacing the fan motor itself. However, several prior posts did not include a final message as to what resolve the problem. Can anyone summarize how they were able to resolve this? Thanks again.
You can test the components individually. When motor works do you have all speeds? If so resistor is good. When you jump power source directly to motor does it always run? If so motor is likely good. You can also replace the blower motor relay with the same type relay from another
circuit to see if that helps the issue.

Upvote 0
The blower motor is not hard to access so a visual inspection may make it very apparent if there is damage to the motor. Have you checked the drains on the motor case? I have heard it is not uncommon for them to clog up and end up causing some damage to the blower motor.

Take a look and drop the motor and look for any signs of apparent damage and then test as mentioned above by Zoom49.

Upvote 0