*installing New Brake Pads!!!*

xjTRiBALjx

:
2002 Mazda Protege5
I need some suggestions on a new pair of front brake pads for my '02 Protege5. I'm at about 61K miles and I'm still on stock pads, so I think it's definitely time!!

I took my car to Brake Check last week and they wanted to charge me $95 for Optima brake pads for a grand total of $219 for the change (including turning the rotors, hardware, flush, etc.) I'm no auto expert, but this seems like too much for a simple pad change. So I've decided to order either Pure Performance KVR Carbon Fiber pads or Axxis Metal Master pads online and get someone to change them and turn the rotors.

Can anyone give any suggestions on which pads (or any other pads for that matter) to choose? I don't drive too crazy, but I definitely want an improvement over the stock pads. If I choose the Axxis pads, what website can i find them at for my car? (I haven't had any luck) And finally, what is the rough cost if i take my new pads in to a shop to replace them and turn the rotors? I don't want to get ripped off or overpriced.

I'd appreciate the help and suggestions. THANX

at my dealershiop stock pads are nearly $120...way way way too much, although they are pretty decent OE pads from what it seems...

I went with EBC pads from tire rack...have had the greens for about a year, and they are going to need replaced soon...and I will go with the reds just to try them out...I am really impressed with the greens bite though...

200 bucks is the normal price for a thorough brake job...and if they do indeed flush and bleed the brake lines, which is a PITA to do yourself, as well as turn the rotors, it might be worth it...if you can get them to drop the price a good bit and you give them your own pads to install...it wouldn't be bad...

I appreciate the info. Yeah, I think I'm going to go ahead and do that. I don't want to pay too much, but I also don't want a crappy brake job.