Mazda's response re: Mazda performance parts

WillisW555

:
2003.5 MSP
I don't know if this has been said on here or not. I'm still a relative noob (1-2 months on this site). I just thought instead of waiting, I'd ask Mazda what's up on additional parts for our cars. Maybe if more people speak up then we can get somewhere.

I sent this e-mail:
Can you tell me if Mazda/Mazdaspeed will coming out with 'aftermarket' type parts? I thought Mazda had plans to put out products similar to the Factory Performance line for Acura, Nismo for Nissan, PVO for Dodge, TRD for toyota, L-series for Lexus, etc.

Don't get me wrong, the Mazdaspeed Protege is great, but there are a few areas that could use a little bit of work. There is a potential market for well tuned ECU. Even after the 'flash' there are stumbling and hesitation problems. This would greatly enhance drivability and customer satisfaction as true aftermarket parts would make owners susceptible to losing their new car warranty. Thank you for your time. I appreciate any comments you could provide.

This is the response: (blarf)
At this time, Mazda has no plans of producing a a different ECU or anything along the lines of performance parts. However, it is possible we may come out with something along these lines in future.

I am pleased you took the time to bring your suggestion regarding performance parts to our attention. Consumer feedback is always very important to Mazda. Certainly, we want to offer exciting vehicles, and comments such as yours help us to achieve that goal.

Rest assured I have documented your suggestion for our corporate record. These records are continuously being reviewed by our Product Planning Department in an effort to provide only the highest quality products to our customers.

"At this time, Mazda has no plans of producing a a different ECU"
translation: we only produced a relatively few MSP, so **** off

However, it is possible we may come out with something along these lines in future.