Oil + Filter change

cesar350

Right now I am pondering how to go about changing both. I've never done an oil change before, but I do want to do it myself.

Do I drain the oil, change the filter, then put the new oil in? Or can I drain and add new oil (since that seems to be easier), then change the filter later with oil inside still?

The manual is no help since for the oil filter its only suggestion is to take it to a dealer.

I guess my questions is this: Can I change the oil filter with oil still inside?

I would appreciate any suggestions regarding this whole operation.

Thanks in advance

drain the old oil. put plug back in

take off old filter

Put on new filter

Put new oil in

If you take off the old filter then put oil in without a filter i believe oil will come out where the filter used to be.

I know I can do an oil change without a filter change. But later on can I do a filter change without an oil change? What you said about the oil coming out of the filter's spot is what makes me doubt I can.

you can if you are really quick and do it before all the oil comes out. ;) Actually all of the oil will not come out but alot will, so you can not just change the filter.

You should change both oil and filter at the same time. It may be possible to do one then the other later, but why?

get ready to handle 'the beast". ;)

first oil filter change is a bastard. good luck, i hope you find a really good filter wrench, or else you will have fun with a screwdriver and a hammer. ;)

If you don't change the filter at the same time as the oil, then you leave a good bit of the old oil and muck in the system, since the filter actually holds in a good amount of oil.

nope, but i can give you tips on how to smash a screwdriver through ;)

just remember, hand tighten the next filter!

uclap5 said:
nope, but i can give you tips on how to smash a screwdriver through ;)

just remember, hand tighten the next filter!