Shifting in P5

zerodk

Well, I'm new to the world of 5 speed but I have a couple of questions regarding shifting:

1) I am shifting pretty easy at this early stage but I do notice myself going much slower compared to other cars (auto). So I try to shift faster on a few occasions, but shifting fast on 1st and 2nd gear is v. hard. The shifter need to be tug quite hard to move between those gears - frankly, more than I'm comfortable with. Is that normal? (The quick shifting among the rest is ok)

2) I notice a small quick jerk when I let go of my clutch after going to a new gear. Is that because I release the clutch too fast still? I thought I am pretty smooth with its release by now. Do I have to give gas immediately to obtain smooth shifts? I find it almost as if that helps!

it just takes practice and experience, man. When I first got my 2002 red P5, it had 9000 miles on it cuz it was a demo model. As a result, lots of people drove her to get an idea on how the car would ride, etc. So, my clutch was in pretty bad shape when I first got it. Practice driving her smoothly more often, and eventually you'll get it. If not, your clutch could need replacing, who knows. Also, like you said, try releasing the clutch more slowly, and see if she engages more softly (hence no more bump). Well, best of luck. It would be so much easier if I could just drive your car! LOL

You might have the revs. high - it'll take more of a tug on the shifter if you take it to 6K! Get out of 1st as soon as you can.
You could invest in a short thro. shifter - as this helps that problem.

if its jerking youre giving it too much gas AND/OR dropping the clutch too fast

zerodk: i know where your coming from, i just got my 2003 laser blue P5 like four weeks ago. i just started learning stick then. i just drove like crazy. i got about 2500 miles already. i'm still learning and it'll take time.