CorkSport.com is MAZDA PERFORMANCE!
CorkSport.com is MAZDA PERFORMANCE!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: Bypass AC Compressor with Shorter Belt Leaving Inactive Compressor In Place

  1. #1
    Protege 2000 DX 1.6 Auto Dino1956's Avatar


    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    113

    Bypass AC Compressor with Shorter Belt Leaving Inactive Compressor In Place

    I have a 2000 Mazda Protege’ DX 1.6 *vehicle.

    I am trying to bypass the AC without having to take out the AC compressor and by having the belt bypass the compressor.
    I thought there was enough clearance to just bypass the compressor without having to physically remove the
    compressor but I guess my research was all wrong. Reason being I had a friend come over to do the job
    and we could not get the belt I ordered on because I think the AC compressor pulley was in the way.
    We loosened the Power Steering Pump so it would swivel and give the belt a bit more slack but it still
    was not enough to get the belt on.

    The belt I purchased was for my car with no AC.
    All the diagrams I found show that there is enough clearance on my model car to leave the AC compressor on.
    Are all those diagrams wrong?

  2. #2
    The Diagram Dude pcb's Avatar

    2002 mazda protege 5

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    ontario, canada
    Posts
    5,387
    You could just remove the AC compressor.
    Chances are that there is no freon left in the system anyway.

    Or maybe just remove the pulley from the compressor.

    I just checked my parts car and I have clearance for the shorter belt but it is a 2L engine.
    The Diagram Dude

  3. #3
    The Diagram Dude pcb's Avatar

    2002 mazda protege 5

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    ontario, canada
    Posts
    5,387
    It's possible that the power steering pulley and bracket are different for a Protege with no AC.

    Perhaps your belt is a bit too short. (If you do actually have clearance from the AC pulley.)

    I can see right in there on my car to verify that there is clearance.

    Last edited by pcb; 09-05-2019 at 04:46 PM.
    Sigs are visible only in your first post on a page. To change your thread display preferences, click here and enable 'Always Show Signature'.

  4. #4
    The Diagram Dude pcb's Avatar

    2002 mazda protege 5

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    ontario, canada
    Posts
    5,387
    Try wrapping a string or cloth tape measure around the pulleys and compare it to the belt you have.

    There are different length pulleys available but you need to know the length.
    Some people put on underdrive pulleys and need slightly shorter belts.
    Sigs are visible only in your first post on a page. To change your thread display preferences, click here and enable 'Always Show Signature'.

  5. #5
    Protege 2000 DX 1.6 Auto Dino1956's Avatar


    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    113
    funny and strange story. When we spoke weeks ago you asked me to test for clearance with a flat stick. I did that and it looked like there was definitely clearance. Not a lot but still there Was clearance. Now when I checked today there was no clearance. We only loosened the Power Steering Pump to try and get belt on. What could have changed (moved)? Either that or I’m going out of my mind. Just my luck that this would become such a problem.

  6. #6
    Protege 2000 DX 1.6 Auto Dino1956's Avatar


    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    113
    My car
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #7
    The Diagram Dude pcb's Avatar

    2002 mazda protege 5

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    ontario, canada
    Posts
    5,387
    Perhaps when you rotated your power steering pump the pulley rolled in the way and you lost clearance??
    There's quite a bit of movement on the power steering pump. (on my car anyway)
    Sigs are visible only in your first post on a page. To change your thread display preferences, click here and enable 'Always Show Signature'.

  8. #8
    Protege 2000 DX 1.6 Auto Dino1956's Avatar


    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    113
    We had hardly any movement at all. Maybe a quarter inch movement tops.
    We kept on thinking it should move more but it never did.
    We loosened all 3 bolts on it also. Still not much movement.

  9. #9
    The Diagram Dude pcb's Avatar

    2002 mazda protege 5

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    ontario, canada
    Posts
    5,387
    Mine's got a huge amount of movement. (and rust too. Iol)

    Sigs are visible only in your first post on a page. To change your thread display preferences, click here and enable 'Always Show Signature'.

  10. #10
    Protege 2000 DX 1.6 Auto Dino1956's Avatar


    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    113
    Your angle of your car photo shows an obvious clearance, mine does not however.

  11. #11
    The Diagram Dude pcb's Avatar

    2002 mazda protege 5

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    ontario, canada
    Posts
    5,387
    If you loosen bolt B, the pump should pivot down to give you clearance for the belt.

    Sigs are visible only in your first post on a page. To change your thread display preferences, click here and enable 'Always Show Signature'.

  12. #12
    Protege 2000 DX 1.6 Auto Dino1956's Avatar


    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    113
    My clearance looks nothing like yours. You have plenty of clearance. I do not. Open Attached Photo.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  13. #13
    The Diagram Dude pcb's Avatar

    2002 mazda protege 5

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    ontario, canada
    Posts
    5,387
    Your picture is from a different angle.
    Mine was from the front looking down.

    Did you turn the adjuster bolt all the way to fit the belt on?
    It should pivot the whole pump until the belt fits on then tighten it up again and it should clear the AC pulley.
    Sigs are visible only in your first post on a page. To change your thread display preferences, click here and enable 'Always Show Signature'.

  14. #14
    The Diagram Dude pcb's Avatar

    2002 mazda protege 5

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    ontario, canada
    Posts
    5,387
    Did you fully loosen (or even remove) adjuster bolt C?

    The belt should fit on even if it's clipping the AC pulley.

    Unless our diagrams are wrong and the 1.6L is different.
    Sigs are visible only in your first post on a page. To change your thread display preferences, click here and enable 'Always Show Signature'.

  15. #15
    The Diagram Dude pcb's Avatar

    2002 mazda protege 5

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    ontario, canada
    Posts
    5,387
    The red arrow is the angle of my picture.

    I think the blue arrow was your angle

    Sigs are visible only in your first post on a page. To change your thread display preferences, click here and enable 'Always Show Signature'.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-21-2016, 02:35 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-05-2016, 05:07 PM
  3. Can I bypass my ac compressor?
    By Jensluxury in forum Mazda6 Engine & Transmission
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-17-2015, 03:27 AM
  4. A/C Compressor/Belt Delete
    By Krevzi_mp3 in forum Mazda MP3
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-30-2012, 08:14 AM
  5. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-31-2010, 09:07 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •