Heads Up

Pitter

Pitter
Contributor
:
2020 CX-5 Signature Azul Metalico
What about the heads up display? I've been giving it a try but not being a Top Gun pilot I find it pretty distracting especially at night. What's it called in the manual and can you shut it off?

What about the heads up display? I've been giving it a try but not being a Top Gun pilot I find it pretty distracting especially at night. What's it called in the manual and can you shut it off?

Not sure if you can disable it but you can lower it to the point where you don't see it.

Give it some more time to get used to it, I think it's one of the best features on the Reserve or Sig.
It's great, especially if you have a heavy foot, it will tell you the current speed limit, traffic signs, on-coming cars, etc.
It also works with Nav so you can see the turnpoints. There's lots of info there.

Thanks for the responses. There are no radar traps or police checking your speed here so it's a feature I don't really need. I'll give it more time though as suggested. Maybe get used to it. I have dimmed it down a bit.

Last edited:
It*s called the Active Driving Display and it has a screen of settings in the infotainment display, including brightness. Aside from displaying your speed, it displays navigation information, BSM warnings, Lane Departure warnings, traffic sign recognition, cruise control status, and so on. It*s all covered in the manual.

You can turn it off in settings but it will default to on every time you switch it on. Get a piece of black felt or microfibre cloth and lay it inside the projector void on top of the dash.

Thanks again. I'll just turn it down. Like the felt suggestion, reminds of the Car Talk guys telling listeners they could fix warning light issues with a piece of black tape.