2013~2016 Installing a PAC RP4-MZ11 to a 2014 CX-5 with Bose system

DEPV2109

Hi, Im new to the page and found so much useful information around for my car. I recently decided to replace the factory head unit for an Alpine iLX-W650. Doing some research I decided to buy the PAC RP4 to retain most of the OEM settings and such. But Ive been reading that I have to use some RCA plugs to help balance the audio, this because of the Bose system in the car. Has anyone installed the RP4 that can help me with that? This is going to be the first time Im installing an aftermarket radio by myself. Thanks in advance!

Regards,

David P

Last edited:
Did you get the harness that goes between / connects your Alpine to the car / factory harness?

The PAC RP4 would have come with a harness that would have 4 RCA outs. These will be plugged behind your Alpine headunit provided it has RCA inputs.

I installed Kenwood last week in my 2015 cx5 with Bose and the harness that came with the PAC RP4 made it easy to make the connections.

Let me know if this helps or if you have any questions. Will try my best to answer.

Hi and thanks for replying. I got a bunch of stuff, I bought the RP4, a dongle to retain the factory reverse camera, the antena connector and a e-brake switch and thats it. I just followed what the guys from Crutchfield recommended. Did you have to make a lot of cable splicing? And one other thing, what did you do with the factory mic? I was reading a post by Red Baron and he used the factory wiring to connect the aftermarket mic, but the mic that comes with the alpine has a 35mm jack at the end.