Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Does the TPMS alert say which tire is low?

  1. #1
    Registered Member
    Donated: $25


    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    63

    Does the TPMS alert say which tire is low?

    On the newer CX-5s, does the low tire pressure alert say which tire is low?
    On my 2011 Subaru, it's just one light and then I have to figure out which tire is low.
    On my wife's 2017 Hyundai Elantra, the alert says which tire, and even gives the actual tire pressure at each individual tire which is pretty cool.

    I'm how the CX-5 TPMS alert works. From the manual, it appears to be just one light without identifying which tire, but I'd like to confirm.

    Thanks,
    Cuz.

  2. #2
    Registered Member

    2017 CX-5 GS AWD

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    UNION CITY, TN
    Posts
    165
    No it does not. My 2016.5 and 2017 both do not.

  3. #3
    Structural Member shadonoz's Avatar
    Donated: $5

    2017 CX-5 GT AWD PP

    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    State of Jefferson - SO Oregon
    Posts
    2,512
    Quote Originally Posted by Cuz View Post
    From the manual, it appears to be just one light without identifying which tire, but I'd like to confirm.
    Quote Originally Posted by VQ35DE View Post
    No it does not.
    Yes it does not.

  4. #4
    Registered Member yrwei52's Avatar
    Donated: $8

    2016 Mazda CX-5 GT AWD w/Tech

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Plano, Texas, USA
    Posts
    8,196

    Arrow Does the TPMS alert say which tire is low?

    Quote Originally Posted by Cuz View Post
    On the newer CX-5s, does the low tire pressure alert say which tire is low?
    On my 2011 Subaru, it's just one light and then I have to figure out which tire is low.
    On my wife's 2017 Hyundai Elantra, the alert says which tire, and even gives the actual tire pressure at each individual tire which is pretty cool.

    I'm how the CX-5 TPMS alert works. From the manual, it appears to be just one light without identifying which tire, but I'd like to confirm.

    Thanks,
    Cuz.
    Like VQ35DE said both gen-1 and gen-2 CX-5 can't display tire pressure for each tires. Only a TPMS warning light to tell you air pressure on one or more of 4 road tires is low. The driver is responsible to find out which one or more than one are low.

    Gen-1 CX-5 uses ABS sensors for its TPMS system, whereas gen-2 CX-5 uses direct-read air pressure/temperature sensor build-in with tire valve stem inside of each tire. Unfortunately Mazda wasted this more expensive direct-read TPMS system and didn't utilize the tire pressure info sending out from each tire.

  5. #5
    Registered Member

    2019 Mazda CX-5 Signature

    Join Date
    May 2019
    Location
    Belleair Beach, Florida
    Posts
    93
    Quote Originally Posted by yrwei52 View Post
    ...whereas gen-2 CX-5 uses direct-read air pressure/temperature sensor build-in with tire valve stem inside of each tire. Unfortunately Mazda wasted this more expensive direct-read TPMS system and didn't utilize the tire pressure info sending out from each tire.
    Since the signals are all received and analyzed in the CMU(?), maybe this feature will appear in some future firmware.
    Another alternative is a generic aftermarket gadget to display the readings. But it seems a shame since all the hardware is already there.
    Last edited by St1ngy; 08-03-2019 at 02:26 PM.

  6. #6
    Registered Member

    2019 CX-5 Signature; 2014 CX-9 Touring AWD

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    375
    The problem with individual readings is that whenever you rotate tires or swap out winter/summer sets, you need to reprogram the wheel positions.

  7. #7
    Registered Member

    2017 CX-5 GS AWD

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    UNION CITY, TN
    Posts
    165
    Quote Originally Posted by leeharvey418 View Post
    The problem with individual readings is that whenever you rotate tires or swap out winter/summer sets, you need to reprogram the wheel positions.
    True but it is poor thinking on their part to have the tech on it but not show us the psi for all 4 corners. Just dumb in my opinion.

  8. #8
    Registered Member

    2019 CX-5 Signature; 2014 CX-9 Touring AWD

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    375
    Hell, Iím just glad systems have moved beyond the one on my 2007 RAV4. A hundred bucks to reprogram the system if you wanted to change wheels? Woof...

  9. #9
    Structural Member shadonoz's Avatar
    Donated: $5

    2017 CX-5 GT AWD PP

    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    State of Jefferson - SO Oregon
    Posts
    2,512
    Quote Originally Posted by leeharvey418 View Post
    Hell, I*m just glad systems have moved beyond the one on my 2007 RAV4. A hundred bucks to reprogram the system if you wanted to change wheels? Woof...
    The sound you heard was them ripping people new ones.

  10. #10
    Registered Member

    2017 CX-5 GT

    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    SK
    Posts
    3
    FYI, I just bought a Bluetooth OBDII monitor from Amazon on a lightning deal for under $20 and the FORScan app on my Android phone and it reads the individual tire pressures/temperatures no problem.

    I was going to ask if anyone knew which wheel exactly wheel unit 1,2,3,4 were mapped to, but it sounds from here like they probably aren't and the tradeoff is that I don't have to pay to reprogram them constantly. I can live with that tradeoff.

  11. #11
    Registered Member yrwei52's Avatar
    Donated: $8

    2016 Mazda CX-5 GT AWD w/Tech

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Plano, Texas, USA
    Posts
    8,196

    Arrow Does the TPMS alert say which tire is low?

    Quote Originally Posted by shadonoz View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by leeharvey418 View Post
    Hell, Iím just glad systems have moved beyond the one on my 2007 RAV4. A hundred bucks to reprogram the system if you wanted to change wheels? Woof...
    The sound you heard was them ripping people new ones.
    Yeah people should be able to reset the tire position by themselves after the tire rotation on 2007 RAV4. Itís said somewhere in ownerís manual.

    Gen-2 Mazdaís TPMS also requires re-learn of the tire position after the rotation.

  12. #12
    Registered Member

    2017 CX-5 GT

    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    SK
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by yrwei52 View Post
    Gen-2 Mazdaís TPMS also requires re-learn of the tire position after the rotation.
    Allegedly this app can put the TPMS in learning mode without having to find/remember the voodoo dance to put it in manually. If I can find some sensors for my winter tires without paying $400 I might try a DIY relearn and report back.

  13. #13
    Registered Member

    2019 CX-5 Signature; 2014 CX-9 Touring AWD

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    375
    Quote Originally Posted by yrwei52 View Post
    Yeah people should be able to reset the tire position by themselves after the tire rotation on 2007 RAV4. Itís said somewhere in ownerís manual.
    Nope. For 2008 Toyota added a TPMS reset button. Mine required plugging in a scan tool.

  14. #14
    Registered Member

    2017 CX-5 GS AWD

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    UNION CITY, TN
    Posts
    165
    Quote Originally Posted by yrwei52 View Post
    Yeah people should be able to reset the tire position by themselves after the tire rotation on 2007 RAV4. It*s said somewhere in owner*s manual.

    Gen-2 Mazda*s TPMS also requires re-learn of the tire position after the rotation.
    Why would it re-learn tire position when it (GEN 2) still does NOT show any psi for individual tires ? Just an idiot light in the dash just like the GEN 1 Mazda.
    Last edited by VQ35DE; 08-15-2019 at 08:21 PM.

  15. #15
    Registered Member yrwei52's Avatar
    Donated: $8

    2016 Mazda CX-5 GT AWD w/Tech

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Plano, Texas, USA
    Posts
    8,196

    Arrow Does the TPMS alert say which tire is low?

    Quote Originally Posted by VQ35DE View Post
    Why would it re-learn tire position when it (GEN 2) still does NOT show any psi for individual tires ? Just an idiot light in the dash just like the GEN 1 Mazda.
    Only Mazda knows why. May be to save some pennies not to add some app to take available info and display individual psi for each tire?

    Quote Originally Posted by VQ35DE View Post
    True but it is poor thinking on their part to have the tech on it but not show us the psi for all 4 corners. Just dumb in my opinion.

Similar Threads

  1. TPMS -- any reason other than tire pressure off?
    By kardut in forum CX-5 Wheels, Tires, Brakes & Suspension
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-18-2018, 09:02 PM
  2. TPMS saved the tire today
    By ceric in forum CX-9 General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-28-2013, 01:40 AM
  3. Help with new wheel/tire/TPMS
    By whyandrew in forum Mazda5 Wheels, Tires, Brakes & Suspension
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-25-2012, 04:28 PM
  4. FS: Full set rim + tire + tpms Mazdaspeed 3 in NJ
    By joe306 in forum Completed Transactions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-20-2012, 06:53 PM
  5. tpms and tire rotation?
    By Young Roids in forum Mazdaspeed3
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-04-2008, 01:10 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •