VersaTuner - tuning software for Mazdas
VersaTuner - tuning software for Mazdas
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: After two months she's finally back! Now what?

  1. #1
    Registered Member

    Mazda Protege5

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    175

    After two months she's finally back! Now what?

    My P5 is at home where she belongs after being in my driveway for a while. She's driving fine but still has that low idle going on. The shifter linkage shakes a lot! I mean when I have the gas pedal down nothing but as soon as I let up it shoots upwards. I tried tightening the bolt and nut with no luck as that rubber piece just above the shielding for the exhaust system is already getting worn out. Next set of business is I believe trailing arms or I've seen them called suspension links. What do these do and with a car this old would it be a good idea to upgrade or stay with stock form? i also read they were labeled as rear rearward and rear frontward which make sense but again, what benefits will I get with this?
    2002 Mazda Protege5 Pure White

    MP3 Flashed ECU | Mishimoto Radiator/Shroud | MS Door Sills & Shift Knob | OBX Short Shifter with CorkSport Bushings | Goodridge SS Brake Lines | CorkSport 3rd Link Mod | MPV Wiper Stalk & Tribute Nozzles | S2K Antenna | Cabin Air Filter Mod | AWR Front Motor Mount 77 Duro | 205/55R16 Kumho Ecsta 4XII on 03 P5 Wheels

  2. #2
    Registered Member NaturalFlavored's Avatar

    Mazda P5

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Tucson
    Posts
    582
    By my rare parts that's what. And check rear engine mount, that plays a role in the shifter if engine is bouncing so is the shifter.

    Also there should be a locking pin (U shaped) that keeps the shifter from coming-out

  3. #3
    Registered Member

    protege5

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    368
    IF the shifter moves quite a bit when you press or release the throttle, you've got very worn motor mounts. Check them and replace them before messing with anything else.

    Mine were so worn it actually would prevent me from shifting to 1st or 3rd gear. When the motor mounts wear, the engine shifts around causing misalignment of the shift linkages.

  4. #4
    Registered Member

    Mazda Protege5

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    175
    Quote Originally Posted by pb4ugotobed View Post
    IF the shifter moves quite a bit when you press or release the throttle, you've got very worn motor mounts. Check them and replace them before messing with anything else.
    I did take a look and the front motor mount is busted so ill be changing that this weekend. Anything I should know before tackling this project? Torque specs and such? Once that one is taking care of ill be upgrading the rear and transmission mount.
    Sigs are visible only in your first post on a page. To change your thread display preferences, click here and enable 'Always Show Signature'.

  5. #5
    Registered Member

    protege5

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    368
    Change at least the one on the passenger fender, and I'll bet the lower one in the front center support is bad too. That one going bad is what causes the one on the passenger fender to rip.

    As for torque specs, I just go with the german torque spec "gudentite". When the impact gun clicks a few times, it's good and tight.

    Replacement is easy. All you need is a jack and a piece of 2x4 under the oil pan. JAck the motor up so the tension is off of the motor mount, unbolt it, remove and replace. Same goes for the one in the front at the bottom. unless you have serious rust issues, it shouldn't take more than about 20 minutes to replace both of them.

    Make sure you get the right one. Auto trans and Manual trans motor mounts are different.

  6. #6
    Registered Member

    Mazda Protege5

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    175
    I believe the pass side one is still good but I'll double check.

    I took care of the front one this weekend and the movement isn't as bad as before.

    On another note, does anyone know what comes out of the rubber hose that has an H cap on it? both ends have like aluminium ends and are bolted. It started leaking on me and I figured I might be able to replace it if I know what it's called and what may happen if i loosen the bolts. Basically the smaller hose under the one that has an "L" cap on it where you measure the freon level of your car.
    Sigs are visible only in your first post on a page. To change your thread display preferences, click here and enable 'Always Show Signature'.

  7. #7
    Registered Member

    protege5

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    368
    you are probably referring to the high pressure AC refrigerant line. This is the line that runs from the compressor to the evaporator in the dash.

    Where is it leaking from? under the cap? if so, a new schraeder valve is probably in order and you can recharge it. If it's from somewhere else, you'll probably have to replace the line. If it's leaking from where it's bolted to the compressor or somewhere else, ther's O rings where they attach. Make sure to use the nitrile (Green) O rings, regular rubber black ones won't cut it.

  8. #8
    Registered Member

    Mazda Protege5

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    175
    I think it's the actual hose because the ends are completely dry. I looked it up and it's the discharge line.
    Sigs are visible only in your first post on a page. To change your thread display preferences, click here and enable 'Always Show Signature'.

  9. #9
    Registered Member

    protege5

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    368
    that's the high pressure line. Should come out of the AC compressor and run to a fitting somewhere near the firewall. It will run from that fitting into the evaporator.

    You will have to evacuate all of the refrigerant out of the system to replace it. If you just crack the bolt loose it's going to blow out everywhere, its somewhere between 150-250psi depending on how long it has been since the car and the AC was running.

    Since you are opening the system, I would also recommend replacing the dryer. It's good practice to replace the dryer any time any component of the AC system is replaced, any moisture in the system will cause problems. then pull the system into a nice deep vacuum for 20 minutes or so to make sure it's all good and there's no leaks, and charge it.

    AC work is tricky for the DIY'er. Even though it's simply replacing a line that's not difficult in itself, the equipment to properly discharge/vacuum/recharge the system is very expensive and it really should be done by a professional. You can rent vacuum pumps and stuff at the auto parts store, but they simply just don't work as well and you want to do this right, or it can cause bigger, much more expensive problems down the road if done incorrectly. I don't even do my own AC work because I don't have the equipment. I'll fix anything else on my car, and I know very well HOW to do the work but since I don't have the correct equipment, I'll pay a shop if I need my AC serviced.

  10. #10
    Registered Member

    Mazda Protege5

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    175
    I'm going to wait a little bit for that project. Hoping the people here will let me evacuate the system, go home install the hose then comeback to fill without it costing me two transactions instead of one.

    Another note, I think the cable for the hood is starting to loosen up.
    Sigs are visible only in your first post on a page. To change your thread display preferences, click here and enable 'Always Show Signature'.

  11. #11
    Registered Member

    Protege5

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Springfield, MO Area
    Posts
    979
    Quote Originally Posted by pb4ugotobed View Post
    that's the high pressure line. Should come out of the AC compressor and run to a fitting somewhere near the firewall. It will run from that fitting into the evaporator.

    You will have to evacuate all of the refrigerant out of the system to replace it. If you just crack the bolt loose it's going to blow out everywhere, its somewhere between 150-250psi depending on how long it has been since the car and the AC was running.

    Since you are opening the system, I would also recommend replacing the dryer. It's good practice to replace the dryer any time any component of the AC system is replaced, any moisture in the system will cause problems. then pull the system into a nice deep vacuum for 20 minutes or so to make sure it's all good and there's no leaks, and charge it.

    AC work is tricky for the DIY'er. Even though it's simply replacing a line that's not difficult in itself, the equipment to properly discharge/vacuum/recharge the system is very expensive and it really should be done by a professional. You can rent vacuum pumps and stuff at the auto parts store, but they simply just don't work as well and you want to do this right, or it can cause bigger, much more expensive problems down the road if done incorrectly. I don't even do my own AC work because I don't have the equipment. I'll fix anything else on my car, and I know very well HOW to do the work but since I don't have the correct equipment, I'll pay a shop if I need my AC serviced.
    The high side (compressor outlet) runs to the condenser.

    I managed to pinch that line somehow during my engine swap. Easy fix with a junkyard line.

    If it's visibly leaking, the system is likely empty. Replace the line and dryer, then have a shop vacuum and charge it. You'll have to add oil to the new dryer, the quantity is in the FSM.
    Last edited by MrGiggles; 07-16-2019 at 08:51 PM.
    2002 Protege5 5 Speed, Pure White, FSZE Swap, Konig Incident 17's
    2006 Chevy Silverado 1500 4x4 5.3

  12. #12
    Registered Member

    protege5

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    368
    Quote Originally Posted by MrGiggles View Post
    The high side (compressor outlet) runs to the condenser.
    You are correct. It's been a while since I've done AC work since I haven't worked at a dealership in a decade

    You *could* evacuate the system with a pocket screwdriver. Remove the cap and there's a "magic button" underneath that will evacuate it for you. Just like deflating a car tire.

    Technically, it's not moral nor legal. but if you're putting it off, and it's visibly leaking, then it's going to end up in the atmosphere anyway... And like Mr. Giggles said, there's probably not a lot of refrigerant left.

  13. #13
    The Diagram Dude pcb's Avatar

    2002 mazda protege 5

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    ontario, canada
    Posts
    5,112
    Quote Originally Posted by pb4ugotobed View Post
    You *could* evacuate the system with a pocket screwdriver.

    Technically, it's not moral nor legal.
    Yea, that's what I did. (I broke the law 😈 )

    But I needed to evacuate my system (which was barely working, so there wasn't much in there) so I could measure exactly how much refrigerant to put in.

    I used the Duracool kit.



    Along with a can of quick seal.



    I remember phoning the company to ask how much refrigerant was in the quick seal.

    Duracool is made out of specially treated propane (or maybe it's butane) that raises the ignition point so any leaks won't catch fire.

    You use slightly more or less than R-134A so I did the math and knew exactly how much to put in.



    The good thing about Durocool is that it is environmently friendly with no CFC's.

    So any leak is no worse than farting outside.
    The Diagram Dude

  14. #14
    Registered Member

    protege5

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    368
    That's great for charging it, or if you have a small leak in one of the o rings it may help to seal it and make it blow cold. but for a real repair of a hard part, that does nothing for pulling the system into a vacuum. He needs to replace a line, so the system needs to be opened up.

    General rule of thumb, ANY time the AC system is opened to the environment whether it's for minutes or hours or days, the dryer/desiccant bag needs to be replaced, and the system needs to be pulled into a good vacuum for a while to make sure all the moisture is out of the system before charging it back up. Moisture in the system leads to much more expensive failures...

  15. #15
    The Diagram Dude pcb's Avatar

    2002 mazda protege 5

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    ontario, canada
    Posts
    5,112
    Ah.. OK.

    I didn't really open my sytem, I just vented the pressure.

    It's still working good by the way.
    It's been more than 5 years.
    Sigs are visible only in your first post on a page. To change your thread display preferences, click here and enable 'Always Show Signature'.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-21-2015, 08:18 PM
  2. After 14500 miles and 11 months of ownership it finally happened...
    By VRMS6 in forum Mazda6 Engine & Transmission
    Replies: 59
    Last Post: 03-29-2009, 09:47 AM
  3. Finally my 5 arrived after 2 months! Questions...
    By derstar in forum Mazda5 Lounge
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 09-02-2008, 11:22 AM
  4. Rebuild Motor finally after 9 months
    By AgentOrange in forum Mazdaspeed Protege
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-08-2008, 04:18 PM
  5. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 05-22-2007, 02:12 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •