Guide 2nd Generation CX-9: CorkSport Air Intake installation notes

sm1ke

2018 Mazda CX-9 Signature
Contributor
:
Canada
These are just some notes I made regarding the instructions that come with the CorkSport air intake for the Mazda6 2.5T and the 2016+ CX-9. While the instructions are generally ok, as a technical writer I found myself making some notes that I thought others might benefit from.

These pictures were taken using my crappy cellphone camera and my 2018 Mazda CX-9 Signature as the "demo" vehicle. This info is provided as a learning aid and reference guide. I assume no responsibility for any warranties this process may void, or damages you may inflict on yourself or your vehicle.

attachment.php

Regarding the MAF sensor wiring clip

The instructions state that in order to remove this clip, you have to pinch the underside of the clip and release it. This is accurate, but I just thought I'd post a pic of the actual clip so you know what you have to pinch. Also, for the record, this clip is not reused in the installation of the CS intake, so if you wanted to, you could just cut this clip off of the wiring harness to avoid having to try to pinch the underside of the clip. This part was pretty frustrating for me because I couldn't really see what I was pinching, and my fingers were too fat to fit in some areas. I ended up muscling it out with a flat head screwdriver, lol.

attachment.php

Hidden MAF sensor wiring clip

I'm not sure why this wasn't detailed in the instructions, but on my car, the wiring harness was also attached to this clip on the back of the OEM airbox. Rather than removing the clip from the airbox, I just cut the electrical tape.

attachment.php

Keeping the "snorkel"