Carbon Build up with Direct injection Engine in the CX5

That dude lives in Indonesia and admits that he never gets above 40 km/hr and is constantly in stop and go traffic. Engine never has a chance to keep the intake valves clean. Hear the traffic in the background during that video? Worst case scenario imo.

Read up at the following forum: https://www.mazdas247.com/forum/showthread.php?123864255-Oil-Carbon-build-up-palooza!/page5

I wont be doing anything to the intake on my car as it runs fine: no drop in performance or mileage since new (mine is a 2013 approaching 63k miles), and my drive is primarily 70 mph for 20 miles each way with rpms above 2500. Maybe Ill clean them at 100k miles if I feel so inclined. Dont want to fix what isnt broken but youll get differing opinions on it.

Full disclosure: I am not an expert nor an engineer - I am just an average guy who likes to research these things. I had a similar concern as you and went all around the mulberry bush regarding this issue.

In the end, to keep things relatively clean I use only top tier gas (Shell, BP, Costco, etc...) and once a week take it out for a long / high rev'ing or "spirited" driving session. It is my understanding that Mazda has accounted for carbon build up in their designs (I think something to do with better seals and shape of the piston?) and discourages any kind of spray cleaning agent.

Just my two cents.

I remember reading somewhere they purposefully designed the intake and cooling system in such a way that temps in the intake remain above the temperature at which carbon buildup can form. Obviously, the guy who made the YouTube video doesnt operate his CX5 in a way that gets temperatures high enough.

106k miles, no change in performance, I use whatever gas I want.

Yea, exactly.

Here we go again...

Just drive the thing, put it through it's paces at least every gas tank once or twice, and don't worry about a thing. Enjoy...