Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Carplay google map not re-calculating?

  1. #1
    Registered Member

    Mazda, 2017 cx-5, GT

    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    95

    Carplay google map not re-calculating?

    Any one got the carplay/android auto installed?
    Just got the dealer installed for my CX3, found google map on carplay (ios) will not recalculate router if you went to the wrong route.
    Is this a normal problem or only for mazda or maybe the iPhone?

  2. #2
    Registered Member

    CX-5 Touring

    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    141
    I just did the upgrade on my 2017 CX-5. I've tested with Android Auto for the first week, using a Galaxy S9+. I did not have any issues with Waze or Google maps placing me in the correct location, or recalculating my route.

    A few days ago, I began using it with an iPhone 7. I found that on quite a few occasions, the maps struggled to place me in the correct location. It was about two or three blocks off sometimes. This was the case no matter which map app I was using (Google maps, Waze, Apple maps). I can confirm on at least one occasion, Waze would not re-route me while using Apple Car Play. These issues never happened while using Android Auto.
    I believe the issue is with cheap GPS hardware in the iPhone. When I looked at the iPhone, it says "GPS signal lost", something I've never seen in the 6-months I've owned the Galaxy S9.

    Not that you asked for a review, but overall, with the exception of the GPS issues, I like the Apple Car Play experience more than Android Auto. Mostly because you can use the touch screen in Apple Care Play (while the vehicle is moving less then 5mph), while the touch screen is always disabled in Android Auto.

  3. #3
    Registered Member paging_drburgos's Avatar

    2017 Mazda CX5 GT - Premium

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    519
    It's definitely not the Mazda, as your iphone is actually controlling Carplay.

  4. #4
    Registered Member Srad600's Avatar

    2016 CX-5AWD GT+Tech/ 2018 CX-9AWD GT

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Chino hills, California
    Posts
    665
    I've had this happen a few times since installing ACP. I've noticed that it seems to happen when I'm in a rural area where cell reception is spotty. The other day I was driving home from a job that was 300+miles away. I was using waze to negotiate traffic in an area I wasn't familiar with. Waze routed me off the freeway and over a mountain pass to avoid traffic congestion. This was all good until waze stopped moving, and I was (according to the screen) now driving off road and into the pacific ocean! Luckily, I was able to use the Mazda Nav to get me out of the mountains and then switched back to Waze for the rest of the trip.

    The stability of ACP/AA is very much dependant on the strength of your cell signal.

  5. #5
    Registered Member

    CX-5 Touring

    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    141
    Quote Originally Posted by Srad600 View Post

    The stability of ACP/AA is very much dependant on the strength of your cell signal.
    Yes, the phone will try to triangulate you using your cell signal if the GPS signal is weak, but under normal circumstances you don't need a cell signal at all if the map has already been loaded, or if you're using offline maps.

    Something definitely gets messed up when the iPhone is connected to the Mazda. I took pictures of my Mazda display, while it wasn't placing me in the correct location, and showed it to Apple. Apple thought it was an issue with the GPS hardware in my phone, so they gave me a warranty replacement, but that didn't solve the issue.

    For some reason, I only have these GPS issues when I'm connected though Apple Car Play. If I don't plug my phone into the car, then it always places me in the correct location.
    Last edited by sjtilney; 10-31-2018 at 06:06 PM. Reason: typo

  6. #6
    Registered Member

    2018 Mazda CX-5 GT

    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by sjtilney View Post

    For some reason, I only have these GPS issues when I'm connected though Apple Car Play. If I don't plug my phone into the car, then it always places me in the correct location.
    Out of curiosity, which Mazda firmware do you have, and which version of iOS?

  7. #7
    Registered Member

    CX-5 Touring

    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    141
    Quote Originally Posted by maxpower0 View Post
    Out of curiosity, which Mazda firmware do you have, and which version of iOS?
    Firmware: NA_70.xx.xxA
    Phone software: iOS 12.0, but I just upgraded to iOS 12.1 today, we'll see if that makes a difference.

  8. #8
    Registered Member Srad600's Avatar

    2016 CX-5AWD GT+Tech/ 2018 CX-9AWD GT

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Chino hills, California
    Posts
    665
    Quote Originally Posted by sjtilney View Post
    Firmware: NA_70.xx.xxA
    Phone software: iOS 12.0, but I just upgraded to iOS 12.1 today, we'll see if that makes a difference.
    If you have 70.00.021A, upgrade to 70.00.100. ACP seems to be more stable with that version.
    Sigs are visible only in your first post on a page. To change your thread display preferences, click here and enable 'Always Show Signature'.

  9. #9
    Registered Member
    Donated: $5

    2014 CX-5 GT FWD, 2015 Mazda 3 Touring

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,745
    With AA and Carplay the phone takes over all duties, including what's displayed on the screen. It sounds like carplay can use the car's GPS antenna if it chooses to, so there is a possibility of a buggy interaction there.
    Last edited by craigo; 11-02-2018 at 09:30 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. Need help calculating a lease
    By bdaoust in forum CX-5 Lounge
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-05-2018, 02:44 PM
  2. Carplay?
    By lazerboy2000 in forum CX-5 Infotainment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-03-2014, 10:57 AM
  3. how To: Calculating the size of a sub enclosure
    By krstofer in forum Mazda3 How-To
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-26-2004, 02:03 PM
  4. how To: Calculating the size of a sub enclosure
    By krstofer in forum Mazda How-To
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-25-2004, 03:52 PM
  5. Calculating Boost
    By mdaj in forum Mazda How-To
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-08-2003, 02:00 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •