Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: DIY Brakes?

Gen-1 Kodo Design 👌 ColoradoDriver's Avatar
    Donated: $5

2014 CX-5 Touring AWD

DIY Brakes?

How hard is it to DIY front brakes? I've never done it before, but I feel like I overpayed when I had my rears done, and want to avoid that again for the fronts.

So I have a few questions:

1. Is there an easy way for me to see/measure what my brake pads are at? Last year my fronts were at 6mm, but I suspect they may be in the range of needing replacement now.
    2. I've lately noticed some bumpy braking, so I suspect that may be due to uneven wear or warping of the rotors? Anything to be done with these, or should new rotors be put on?
    3. How long would it take to do a brake job for the first time? I would probably have to rent a lift as I don't have room in my garage for anything but ramps.
    4. Any kind of special tools needed?

Thanks all.
    2014 CX-5 Touring AWD 2.5L | Jet Black Mica - 86k miles
    01/2013 build | 4/20/2013 delivery

you will have to remove the wheel to get a good look at your brake pads to see how much of the pad is remaining, make sure you look at the inner brake pad too as they sometime can wear faster than the outer brake pad.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5u9lBRhAqco

Banned

16.5 CX-5 GT AWD w/Tech BRMica

It's simple, 30 minutes or less. If you have room for ramps, you have room for jack stands, just if you wanna buy some or not. The pads will come out with a simple pull with your fingertips. I used to turn rotors back in the day, but I'd just assume replace them these days with the cost being so minimal compared to how long they last.

Good luck, you can do this fairly easily and will be glad you did it on your own once you're done...

There should be a simple 10-15 minute video on youtube for the CX-5 as a tutorial, and it should be all you need.

2014 CX-5 Touring AWD

Thanks all!