White Pearl Paint Query Initiated With Mazda USA Irvine California

:
CX-9 Signature
Greetings Fellow CX-9 White Pearl Owners:

I bought a new CX-9 Signature in White Pearl, January 2018. I did a ton of homework on near midsize SUVs and the Mazda CX-9 triumphed over all others in my mind below $50k (I purchased mind for $46k). Everything about the CX-9 has been outstanding. Ride comfort, vehicle dynamics, mechanical build quality, etc., has all made me very satisfied with the overall performance. However, one thing has plagued my entire Mazda CX-9 new purchase experience: The White Pearl Paint is NOT ready for prime time.

This paint is far too soft, far to flaky and nowhere near ready for Automotive use. I am a textbook Schedule 1 driver of the CX-9. It is a daily driver. However, the commute traverses well maintained highways and is not more than 30 minutes both directions. Air quality here is good. Road conditions are outstanding. Light to medium traffic. I do not tailgate. I do not follow to close. I am highly conscious to avoid trailing freight trucks of any kind. Yet, since January of 2018 when we took delivery from the dealer, the paint on the Front Fascia cannot withstand a long glaring stare for too long let alone actual daily driving without pitting at the slightest of impacts from particles on the road.

The problem began and was detected in the first 72 hours of ownership! I thought it was just bad timing, but the trend continued with more Front Fascia Surface Area becoming speckled with road rash from tiny particle impacts. I'm seeing impacts that are very small and that manage to drive all the way to the Black Plastic Surface! Yet, the impact areas are tiny and you never hear anything striking the vehicle while driving. You simply wait to wash and detail the vehicle on the weekend and are faced with a while new area of tiny particle impact damage.