VersaTuner - tuning software for Mazdas
VersaTuner - tuning software for Mazdas
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: Mp3 ecu

  1. #1
    Registered Member

    P5

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Hawaii
    Posts
    160

    Mp3 ecu

    Just ordered a MP3 ECU part #FS9N-18881-C, how would I go about installing this? Disconnect battery for the new ECU and start pumping in 91 octane right?
    From what I understand it's under the carpet on the passenger side.. am I missing anything else I need to do or is it that straightforward?

    Thanks
    -Grif

  2. #2
    Registered Member

    2003 Mazda Protege5

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    230
    Where'd you get yours?
    But from my understanding, yes, it is that simple. I'm trying to find one now for my P5
    2003 Sunburst Yellow Mazda Protege5
    Follow my instagram @another_yellowp5

    Mods List
    Interior
    - JVC head unit
    -Sound Ordinance Sub woofer
    Exterior
    -WeatherTech Rain Guards
    Performance
    -HKS axle back
    -MP3 Flashed ECU

  3. #3
    Registered Member

    P5

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Hawaii
    Posts
    160
    Quote Originally Posted by Gabe710 View Post
    Where'd you get yours?
    But from my understanding, yes, it is that simple. I'm trying to find one now for my P5
    I saw one pop up on ebay for $120 so I hopped on that immediately.
    But alrighty, thanks! Tried searching around and the info was a bit spotty on what needs to be done.

  4. #4
    Registered Member

    2003 Mazda Protege5

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    230
    Damn that's a good price. I'm trying to find one now.
    I read to watch out as the metal holding down the shield over the ECU will cut you
    Sigs are visible only in your first post on a page. To change your thread display preferences, click here and enable 'Always Show Signature'.

  5. #5
    Registered Member

    P5

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Hawaii
    Posts
    160
    Quote Originally Posted by Gabe710 View Post
    Damn that's a good price. I'm trying to find one now.
    I read to watch out as the metal holding down the shield over the ECU will cut you
    Thanks! Looks like I'll have to look for my gloves.
    Keep an eye on ebay, I checked it a few times per day. Filtered my searches to Newly Listed & Used.
    Maybe craigslist too? I'm sure you have a larger market compared to where I am lol.

  6. #6
    Registered Member Corphish's Avatar

    83 RX-7 Gsl, 2000 Mazda Protege LX, 2011 Mazda3 Sport i

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Baldwin, WI
    Posts
    327
    A user on here by the name: SpicyOrangeMSP will re-flash any ecu for you. Will cost you some but then you know you have the correct ecu you want.

  7. #7
    Registered Member

    2003 Mazda Protege5

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    230
    did you end up getting the ECU in?
    Sigs are visible only in your first post on a page. To change your thread display preferences, click here and enable 'Always Show Signature'.

  8. #8
    Registered Member

    P5

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Hawaii
    Posts
    160
    Quote Originally Posted by Gabe710 View Post
    did you end up getting the ECU in?
    Yes I have, well worth it and probably one of my favorite mods so far. Been pumping in 93 octane and above 4k rpms it's so smooth, car feels a bit more peppy. It idles real well too, almost seems as if the cars off.. not sure if thats a placebo or what. But moving from a stop and rolling through traffic seems to be a lot better as well. Almost cut my hands up swapping them out so be careful with that if you're planning to get the ecu too.
    Sigs are visible only in your first post on a page. To change your thread display preferences, click here and enable 'Always Show Signature'.

  9. #9
    Registered Member Catzilla's Avatar

    Protege5

    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Location
    DFW
    Posts
    58
    My car is unusually peppy (ahem, when it runs).
    What's the visual indicator on the ECU that it's a MSP unit?

  10. #10
    Registered Member

    P5

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Hawaii
    Posts
    160
    Quote Originally Posted by Catzilla View Post
    My car is unusually peppy (ahem, when it runs).
    What's the visual indicator on the ECU that it's a MSP unit?
    MSP ecu works with a turbo setup, if you're looking for NA power then MP3 ecu is the way to go.

    Some browsing seems to show MSP ecu with part numbers MSP0-18-881 and FSAE-18-881, FSAE-18-881a,b,&,c.
    Sigs are visible only in your first post on a page. To change your thread display preferences, click here and enable 'Always Show Signature'.

  11. #11
    Registered Member Catzilla's Avatar

    Protege5

    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Location
    DFW
    Posts
    58
    Thanks!

  12. #12
    Registered Member NaturalFlavored's Avatar

    Mazda P5

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Tucson
    Posts
    440
    Did you install another Intake Manifold or take out the VTCS? MP3 ECU doesn't read that sensor only the VICS. So youd want to take that out to get better airflow.
    https://www.mazdas247.com/forum/show...to-be-a-sticky

  13. #13
    Registered Member

    2003 Mazda Protege5

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    230
    I have another IM that I'm gonna delete the VTCS from. But I wanted to ask, do people only plug the big hole in the side or also the tiny holes between the runners?
    Sigs are visible only in your first post on a page. To change your thread display preferences, click here and enable 'Always Show Signature'.

  14. #14
    Registered Member NaturalFlavored's Avatar

    Mazda P5

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Tucson
    Posts
    440
    Well it's only air, I only plugged the big hole on the side. Took a bolt just barely fit and a power drill and just screwed it in then back out to make thread marks then put on locktite on it and then back on.
    It's been holding for 2 years now.
    Sigs are visible only in your first post on a page. To change your thread display preferences, click here and enable 'Always Show Signature'.

  15. #15
    Registered Member

    2003 Mazda Protege5

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    230
    Hm, I might have to do that. I wanted to wait a little while cause I wanted to get a slight Port/Polish on it. Thanks!
    Sigs are visible only in your first post on a page. To change your thread display preferences, click here and enable 'Always Show Signature'.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •