Hydraulic lifts for hood

Yes. I have a set of "MIT" struts I've been using for 4 years or more from the PRC. Good investment imo

Yes.

I installed a similar set on my '17 shortly after purchase last year.

This is a helpful, easily-installed mod that I've added to multiple vehicles over the years.

Is this so you don't have to use the little stand when you lift the hood?

I never cared much for these. (friday)

They add weight, they push upwards on the thin hood, sometimes bulging it or lifting it away from the fenders even in some applications, and eventually they fail and the hood falls down on you when you are relying on it. LOL

It would be a different story if these hoods were heavy, or if I needed to lift the hood up more often like some other cars. I will stick with the simple tried and true prop-rod.

They add weight, they push upwards on the thin hood, sometimes bulging it or lifting it away from the fenders even in some applications, and eventually they fail and the hood falls down on you when you are relying on it. LOL

It would be a different story if these hoods were heavy, or if I needed to lift the hood up more often like some other cars. I will stick with the simple tried and true prop-rod.

Actually hood struts are very common as OEM equipment in Japan whereas the USDM model will have a hood prop. Even with mine 1 strut will hold the hood as you will find during install.

Actually hood struts are very common as OEM equipment in Japan whereas the USDM model will have a hood prop. Even with mine 1 strut will hold the hood as you will find during install.

My GM/Holden Calais had struts but 3, 6 & CX-5 just have the hood prop

Well that is nice to hear! There might even be hardware mounting locations already provided on the USDM then?

The CX-5 hood is heavier than any other I have ever owned.
The struts are very light weight.
When they fail it's usually gradual, and if you don't trust them, use the prop as backup.