New guy - '03 Mazdaspeed Protege

AZDave65

:
2003 Mazdaspeed Protege, 1990 CSP Miata
Hi gang!

I have had over 40 Miatas and had sworn off FWD or black cars, and look at what I ended up with!? Friend of mine had it, and thought there was a major problem, so picked it up fairly cheap. Found #3 plug wire was not on. That took care of the noisy misfire, and now having a blast with this little rocket! Just put on new tires (Hankooks) and got rid of the rock hard junk that was on it. Transformed!

When getting the tires mounted today, I noticed one of the center caps was gone. Must have fallen off, so anyone got one, with the 2 set screws? They are the OEM Racing Hart 17s with the raised Mazda logo. I'd gladly reimburse for time and trouble...

Also had a CEL for fuel pressure regulator, but put some Techron in it and it seems to be clearing up a bit. Since I am new to these cars, is the pressure regulator special to this model? Is it in the tank/pump assembly (like the Miata), or on the fuel rail? Hopefully it will clear up as the miles go on, but just in case...

Anywho, REALLY enjoying the car and glad to join the group. Thanks in advance for any help. (usa)

Pic attached...

Attachments

• PB270249.JPG
    PB270249.JPG
    99 KB · Views: 206
Techron seems to have cleared up the occasional misfire. Hankook tires are awesome! Happy owner. :)

Hi gang!

I have had over 40 Miatas and had sworn off FWD or black cars, and look at what I ended up with!? Friend of mine had it, and thought there was a major problem, so picked it up fairly cheap. Found #3 plug wire was not on. That took care of the noisy misfire, and now having a blast with this little rocket! Just put on new tires (Hankooks) and got rid of the rock hard junk that was on it. Transformed!