Bite point of clutch question.

Holiday

:
Protege 5
Not the original owner of my P5 and this is my first standard transmission car so I'm curious just how much wear my clutch has on it. Perhaps this is not an easy question to answer but I'm wondering if the biting point of the clutch is normally about the midway point of the release. Seems there is a lot of travel for my clutch to bite, then again as I said my first manual transmission car so I have no prior experience. Just wondering about the signs of a worn clutch.

Not the original owner of my P5 and this is my first standard transmission car so I'm curious just how much wear my clutch has on it. Perhaps this is not an easy question to answer but I'm wondering if the biting point of the clutch is normally about the midway point of the release. Seems there is a lot of travel for my clutch to bite, then again as I said my first manual transmission car so I have no prior experience. Just wondering about the signs of a worn clutch.

generally speaking, a clutch that grabs closer to the top signifies an aggressive previous owner. clutches rarely grab close to the bottom of the pedal, most clutches grab halfway so that sounds normal to me.

if the clutch is worn, you will feel it slip, or shift slowly when shifting quickly or aggressively at high RPM. there wont be much feel when you are engagin first gear. if the clutch pedal has good feel and it grabs nice and firm, then you got lots of life left in the clutch.