Snow tires or all season

:
CX-5
I don't understand the big debate on snow tires. It seems to be accepted that snow tires are better in snow then all season tires.

When you are stopping your vehicle it doesn't matter if you have FWD RWD AWD or your engine just fell out and you have no wheel drive. They all stop the same.

Your car is probably worth between 10K and 30K right now.
A set of used Mazda rims run about $80 to $150
When snow tires are on the car the other tires are not wearing out.
With snow tires on the car there is less chance of a sudden reduction in value of your car.

On the other side you have 1. It doesn't snow where you are. 2. No extra wheels and tires to store. 3. bragging rights.

For me. I want the best tires I can get on my car winter and summer. I am a great driver with 53 years experience and I can drive a 62 Buick with real wheel drive and worn out bias ply out of balance tires over a mountain through a blizzard I also have enough experience and sense to know that I don't want to.

Frank

You should probably have posted this in the tires/wheels section rather than here.
This whole snow tire vs all seasons has been discussed and argued about many times.
I'm sure this will bring out the trolls again.
Anyway, as for me, I live in a snow belt, and wouldn't drive without snows in the winter.
Even with my 4X4 (2002 Pathfinder), I run snows. Makes a huge difference.

I want snow tires but I'm not sure how to swing that living in an apartment.

If you have a good relationship with your local auto repair shop and you buy your snows from them, they may store your tires for you. My shop does it for good customers.

It's like everything else on this forum, some people are adamantly for them, some aren't. I never realized how much better they were until I ran my first set years ago. I will never go through a winter without them now. I've literally driven miles on ice and never even realized it, that's how much better they are than all seasons.