Snowflake

Senti_Mentel

:
Pure White Mp5
Snowflake can be a masculine name

Hey guys, I just bought a p5 a little over a month ago(her name is snowflake), and I've always liked giving my cars a little personal touch and do as much of their maintenance myself as I can(I'm no master mechanic). So I figured it would be fun to get some input and advice from other members, as well as Keep a log of everything I do, and what better way to do so then to start a build thread.

Here she is on the lot.

IMG_20170802_174311194_HDR (2).jpg

So here we go.

I bought the car in August off a lot for a pretty good price, and aside from some asthetic issues she seemed fine. Since then I've noticed a few things.

The biggest issue is that she needs new valve stem seals, shoots a nice big blue smoke cloud on startup(I'm assuming the dealer was warming it up since it never did this while I was looking at the car). But it still has compression, no blow-by, and after a few she runs fine.

So in about a week I'll be taking her to a friend of mine to have those replaced, and so long as he doesn't find anything else majorly wrong I'll get her back right as rain.

So while I've been waiting for that i decided to get to work on a couple things:
First...the audio.

So Snowflake came with the factory head unit, but I had a spare higher end off brand Soundstream double-din(with gps) head unit from one of my last projects as well as two 10in subs in a box with an amp. Pull the OEM head unit out with some spare ford/mazda keys i had and pick up a harness to make things easy, and start wiring things up. I ran the 0/1 gauge power wire from the battery through a pre existing cutout in the firewall just above the interior fuse box and made a fitting gasket to keep the