Popping Under slight break while slowing down- CV joints?

terrywood23

:
mazda, familia (AKA: protege 5)
I have a 2003 Mazda Familia (protege5 in the United States)(US Military Stationed in Okinawa Japan). It has less than 42,000 miles on it and about 7K of those are from me. I drive fairly aggressive and this issue has been slowly getting worse.

There is an audible popping during easy breaking while slowing down. It slows with my speed and only appears while pressing the break. I have had it on a lift and checked ball joint, tie-rods, etc and nothing seems loose. I replaced the breaks when I first got the car and checked during this inspection; nothing is loose on the calipers, the pads are solid with no movement that I can tell, the rotors are not warped and do not move.

I am leaning toward CV joints being bad but there is no popping under acceleration while turning or going straight. Both boots are good. No bushings underneath seem deteriorated. And, I have no knowledge of any past issues or maintenance that was done to the car.

I have posted a video; after the 2 minute mark, a lot of the background noise dies and you can REALLY hear to true sound of the popping.

Just looking for ideas before I go spending money on parts. CV axles are not cheap here.

Thanks!

Umm the only other thing I'd check would be the lower control arm bushings! But I think that it seems like the axles since they make the noise while you're moving

Strut bearings and strut mount bushings. Mine was doing the exact same thing. I replaced em. Noise gone. Jack the car up get weight off the mounts, then try again. If noise is gone more than likely bushings and bearings for ur struts.

I have a 2003 Mazda Familia (protege5 in the United States)(US Military Stationed in Okinawa Japan). It has less than 42,000 miles on it and about 7K of those are from me. I drive fairly aggressive and this issue has been slowly getting worse.