Candy Apple Red

OldGinger

:
2017 Mazda CX-5 GT Red / Parchment

Hello Folks,

Just bought my car, just joined you all. In explaining to my sister why I--a 70 year old man--bought a 2017 Soul Red Crystal CX 5, I told her it all began in the late 1950's, for me at least. In those days cool guys bought old cars, stripped them down, and customized them with baby moons and all the other festive touches celebrated in a song like "Little Deuce Coupe." And the cool guys' favorite color was called Candy Apple Red. These guys were my heroes. I had no car; my dad drove a green Ford.

I thought it was gone forever, but it has been reborn, courtesy of our Japanese friends, as Soul Red Crystal.

The Honda CRV I was also considering somehow never touched me, never reached out to me. I am not an engineer, and this is not an engineer's way of speaking; or an accountant's either, for that matter.

So my purpose in writing--besides to say hello--is to contribute my little piece to the endless thread about Honda vs.Mazda, but mainly to ask if any of you remember that old color--candy apple red--and recognize it in the gorgeous car now beaded with rain water in my driveway.

My God, he's right?!? It's the modern Candy Apple Red!?!
😎👍
Welcome to the forum, brother!
1fb5fabd1dfb75cf5795053ad4818272.jpg

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk

Wow, you're right. That is a beautiful red, reborn!

Welcome to the forum!

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk

I am not old enough to know about this "Candy Apple Red". Congrats on your new car!

I've had quite a few people ask me about the color and make reference to candy apple red. It turns a lot of heads, which is neat especially around here where i'm surrounded by BMW's, Mercedes, Lexus', and Maserati's, with the occasional Phantom, Lambo's and the mother of them all, Ferrari's.

great color choice OldGinger, CONGRATS !!! I saw one in person on the local street and the 2017 red seemed like a deeper more reflective red than 2016