New Owner - New Problem

Strings

:
Mazda CX 5 Touring
Just brought home wife's new, 2016.5 CX 5 Touring and she loves it. Traded her 2005 6s GT. So, while out driving it around last nite we find there is an interesting (in that it's gonna be hard to describe) "pulsing" as you slow and stop. It would put you in mind of a tire having bump on its tread.

But it's clearly not a tire.

So, I took the car out of gear and tested for repeatability - it did repeat.

My first guess - and the same as the service writer I spoke to, was that this NOS unit may have developed rust on a brake rotor and maybe it would just wear away > issue would go away.

But the "pulsing" is so uniform in behavior, I'm starting to think it may be a wheel hub or bearing reacting to the mechanical influences of braking.

Familiar to anyone?

BTW, newbie here. This is our 3rd Mazda since our 1983 LTD Edition RX7, the 6S GT mentioned above and of course this CX 5. Guess we're as dedicated to the brand as to the culture.

I had an issue that sounds exactly as you describe with the Jeep I had before seeing the light and buying my 2016.5 Touring. :) In that case, it WAS the tire, but it was that the tire had a very slight flat spot from having sat in the same place. When I replaced tires, it went away.

I also had a warped rotor on the Jeep that caused its own problems, but you might consider that it is the tire that's defective.

I had an issue that sounds exactly as you describe with the Jeep I had before seeing the light and buying my 2016.5 Touring. :) In that case, it WAS the tire, but it was that the tire had a very slight flat spot from having sat in the same place. When I replaced tires, it went away.

I also had a warped rotor on the Jeep that caused its own problems, but you might consider that it is the tire that's defective.

Good way to teat this theory is to move the "problem tire" from front to back...or back to front then test it.

Your OP sounds as if this happens when braking ... true?