shifter/transmission issue

:
mazda protege5
Hello,
I'm looking at buying a 2002 Protege5 with the manual transmission, which is in great shape except for one thing. The issue the car has, is that it will not shift into 1st, 2nd, and reverse. I've tried doubling clutching to try to slide it into any one of those gears but it just won't. When I try it feels like I'm hitting a "wall" with the shifter before the gears try to mesh together. There aren't any noises of any kind coming from the transmission when I try to get into those gears. It shifts into 3rd, 4th, and 5th gears with no issue. The car does have an aftermarket short shifter. My question is, Is the shifter the issue or is there a more serious issue inside the transmission? Has anyone run into this problem? If it is the shifter and linkages, how hard would it be for me to fix this myself? I've never done anything like this before and am very worried that this might be beyond what I can handle. The owner of the car has taken it to a transmission shop and they said the shift kit was the issue but that they would only replace the transmission not the shifter and shift linkages. Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

Does it go into gear when the car isn't running? It could be a bent linkage or bad shift bushings. You can remove the linkage altogether and try to move the shift rod on the trans itself. If it does need a new trans you can purchase them for about $150 from a junkyard and they can be swapped out in a day.

Could be bad transmission. Mine went out and it felt like I was shifting but wouldn't go into 1 2 or reverse or 5th. Might need a rebuild.
You can tell if you start the car put it in neutral and let go of the clutch and it dies.

I think you should tell the guy you're not interested until it's certified and safetied.

There may be more issues that don't show up until you take it for a test drive. (I assume you didn't drive it... starting in third gear is really hard on your clutch)