Mazda 5, 2009 Noises

MC Sniper

:
Hi folks

Im a newb, just got a 2009 Mazda 5 touring from a guy and been trying to find out where the darn clunks and rattles are coming from. Shes quiet on smooth roads but pretty clunky when on bumpy roads. So what have you guys been finding? Ive inspected it underneath and can find anything that appears bad or nothings loose. 120,000 miles.

Also, engine code P0138 (bank 1, sensor 2) faulting. the ox sensor sells for $120.00!!! anyone find them better priced?

Thanks in advance.

Very common problem...(blah)

The sway bar bushings dry up and shrink, causing the sway bar to rattle on bumpy roads. Same thing on the Mazda3, which is the Mazda5 suspension twin...

Most folks like to do the end links at the same time, since they work and wear together.

Also look for cracks in the rubber of the lower control arms. Lots of noise when they go. I bet its all 3...and probably even the motor mounts. I have replaced all of the above on my 06. Low-quality rubber. But it could be worse...much worse. At least its not low-quality aluminum and steel in the powertrain.

I have the same issue. I replaced front sway bar bushings last year and now the clunk is back. What is the serial number for the lower control arms? Did u replace with OEM or is there a better replacement? Tnx

I have the same issue. I replaced front sway bar bushings last year and now the clunk is back. What is the serial number for the lower control arms? Did u replace with OEM or is there a better replacement? Tnx

I believe that the LCAs are universal across many cars, even the Volvo S40/V40/C30. But Volvo rubber is really poor, necessitating suspension rebuilds every 100K, so I went aftermarket. I figure if OE is so bad, and alternatives like Ford or Volvo are no better, why pay more money? I have only had them on for a few thousand miles, so I can't yet speak on longevity.