2016 CX-9 Real World MPG

TX_Driver

:
2016 CX-9 GT
I'm the proud owner of a soul red/sand 2016 CX-9 GT and love it. My only concern is the gas mileage so far -- a poor 16.6 mpg for the initial 150 miles. For reference, the 5 current 2016 cx9 listed on fuelly (http://www.fuelly.com/car/mazda/cx-9/2016) show a *minimum* of 21.4 mpg, so should I be concerned?

I know there is some thought that mpg might improve with additional miles, but I am surprised at the poor fuel efficiency so far. I am a very conservative driver with a light touch. The driving conditions were about 90% city, no hills, with the AC on.

I also have a GT, currently with about 800 miles on the odometer.
My first measured tank was a bit over 15 mpg, so you're doing better than I did.

City driving (especially stop and crawl) plays havoc on the fuel efficiency, as does having to constantly run the A/C.

Thus far, I've reached a high of 24+ mpg with mostly freeway driving and filled up tonight with a figure of 18.6 in mixed driving, with the majority being stop-and-crawl.

My prior experience with several new SkyActiv engines leads me to anticipate continued mileage improvement for the first few thousand miles.

I don't believe that I'll achieve the EPA estimates, but I expect to get 20 mpg or better in mixed driving once the engine is fully broken-in.
Note that this is MUCH better than the 14 - 16 mpg that my former 11 CX-9 delivered.

Note that this is MUCH better than the 14 - 16 mpg that my former 11 CX-9 delivered.

In contrast, I am coming from a 2004 V6 Honda Accord that got 19 mpg along the same route that the CX-9 is currently giving 16.6 mpg. Grant it the CX-9 is 1,000 pounds heavier. But still, had hoped that technology would have improved fuel efficiency over the last 12 years. I agree that the stop-crawl-stop traffic is a killer on mpg. I hope that my mpg improves with break-in time.

Last edited: