Gear - Manual- how to use

sangs

:
mazda
I see there is option "M" near "D" in gear box :) ( CX5 Touring )I think "M" stands for manual. I have always used automatic drive option.Could you please tell me how to use "M" option ? is there any advantage of using "M" ? (headbang)

When in M, you choose which gear, moving the lever, and upshifting and downshifting just like a manual transmission. On the dash you will see what gear you are in M1-M6.

I'd bet that your owners manual can tell you how it works. All kinds of good info in there. Give it a read some time. :)

:) I am sorry for asking silly questions. I am new to Mazda . So learning new things
I have checked owners manual http://www.mazdausa.com/MusaWeb/musa2/pdf/smartguides/2016_Mazda_CX5_Smart_Start_Guide.pdf
But didn't get proper answer :(

The smart start guide is NOT the same as the owners manual. Not by a long shot. Look for the multi-hundred page book that should have come with your car. If for some reason you didn't get it, go back to the dealer and make them give you one.

I see there is option "M" near "D" in gear box :) ( CX5 Touring )I think "M" stands for manual. I have always used automatic drive option.Could you please tell me how to use "M" option ? is there any advantage of using "M" ? (headbang)

How to use the 'M' option?

You may use the (M)anual option anytime. Say when you are driving in auto gear ('D') and decide to switch to manual, just push the stick to M (while on the move is fine). Once your gear is in M mode, you should see the gear number on your dashboard/screen. Thereafter, depending on which gear you intend to shift it to manually, you just need to push it up/down (to increase or lower the gear). You may now continue to operate your car in manual mode. You may also start off having the stick in M, and you'll see "1" on the dashboard and the number increases as you drive on manually.