$21 electric sunction extractor/transfer pump for transfer case oil changes

avidien

Contributor
:
2013 CX-9 Touring
hey guys,
just a quick update and improvement to our how-to procedure for transfer case oil change
http://www.mazdas247.com/forum/showthread.php?123847373-Changing-CX-9-transfer-case-gear-oil-%28photos%29

decided to swap my transfer case oil again after 7500 miles,I swear it's so easy I'm a pro at it now,

honestly, the hardest and most tedious part was pumping in the new fluid, takes almost like 10 minutes of manual pumping until I saw the new oil flow out of the drain hole.

basically if you can change your own engine oil, you can do this very easily.
actually the real reason was so I can play with my new $21 electric sunction extractor/transfer pump :D

https://www.ebay.com (commissions earned)

the thing worked liked a champ!! much faster and cleaner than the sunction gun, with the sunction gun, I had to suction three times and dump three times, very messy, with the electric pump just had to hit the switch and let it run, see video

the amount of old oil sucked out was also about 30% more using the electric pump than the sunction gun,
it almost filled up the whole Poland Spring bottle, I was never able to get that much out both times using the sunction gun.

I hooked up the pump to my emergency jump starter and just ran it off that to power the pump as shown here:

also since this was the third time I did this, I had to add new VC-3 sealant:

Last edited:
Excellent. Great to see the commitment to the process avidien and for posting up all these updates!! :)

How do you clean the pump? Or do you just leave it as is for the next time?
I just ran the pump a minute by itself after disengaging the suction tube from the transfer case to flush out any residual oil in the pump line, then left it as is for next time, I didn't see any harm just leaving lubricant as is, since it won't rust or clog up the pump.

Last edited: