Help please--need to lock fob inside car while surfing/swimming

sunjunkie

:
Mazda CX5 Touring
Newbie here so please be gentle...I have a 2015 CX5 Touring with advanced keyless entry. I surf/swim and need to be able to lock the fob inside the truck since I can't get it wet and don't want to risk hiding it outside the car. Dealer told me I could lock it inside and get a door key made, but Mazda tech told me if I leave fob in car, it will continually try to connect to the engine and battery will run out fast. I've tried hiding the fob in the cargo area by the spare tire (more than three feet away from start button) but it is still detected. This is a problem. Anyone have a solution? Thanks.

My 2013 key fob (not advanced entry) has a pop-out key. Yours doesn't have that?
Unless you're away from the car for many many hours, I can't imagine that there is enough draw on the car battery to really make any difference. Or are you referring to the battery in the fob?

I have a spare fob wrapped in aluminum foil in with my spare and a door key magnetized on the car. I ran a test with the fob wrapped in foil just outside the door and it was unrecognizable to my car.

You could hide your fob in a coffee can hidden in the sand each tI'm yout go surfing. Though, that guy with metal detector might find it while your paddling out.

Last edited:
Bopper, I found your post about this on another thread right after I posted this question--thanks! I'm concerned about the tin foil doing damage to the fob though. And that guy with the metal detector is not as big a problem as the guys with binoculars who watch the surfers hide their keys and then clean out their cars. (shady)

Maybe install a hitch so you can use a HitchSafe?

img2.jpg

pic1.jpg

My 2014 CX5 touring has a door open key in the FOB. Remove it and take it with you. I see now issues with leaving the FOB in the vehicle. ed