Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: CX-9 Water Pump Replacement

Registered Member

CX-9 AWD Touring

CX-9 Water Pump Replacement

Does anyone have any experience with a DIY replacement of the CX-9 water pump. My CX-9 had the water pump replaced at 14K and now it's leaking again, this time out of warranty at over 80k.

The first time the comment from the dealer was the engine had to be removed, the alldata information also says to remove the engine. I've looked at it and I'm really not seeing an issue with removing the front cover with the engine in the vehicle. It may be the motor will have to be lifted a little once the mount is removed but I'm really not seeing where the engine has to be pulled.

I was a tech at a Mazda dealer in the early 90's so I'm pretty confident I can pull off this repair, but I thought it probably made sense to ask the question first?

So the question is; has anyone replaced the water pump on a Cx9 3.7 V6 without pulling the engine?

If I end up doing the repair, I'll take some pictures.

Thanks

Registered Member

2007 Mazda CX-9 Touring

Did you ever get that water pump problem fixed? I had it replaced at almost 70k. I had an extended warranty so all i paid was 130 bucks. If you found a way that it can be done please let us know. The service manual states that the engine has to be removed.

Registered Member

mazda cx-9, lux

mine is leaking now and was told 2300 from mazda to fix. they did not say they have to pull the engine, just drop the cross member and raise the motor out a little to make it a bit easier.
    they say only one day to repair so i dont think the motor comes out.

Registered Member

2009 cx9, 2.7L v6