General AltiMAX RT43 tires

JonW

:
2014->2016->2018 CX-5 AWD Touring, various Miatas
I have over 17K miles on my 2014 and recently noticed when checking my air pressure that I'm getting pretty close to the wear bars on the Yokohamas that came on it. If it were springtime I could probably squeeze another few thousand more miles out of them but not worth taking a chance going thru a snowy winter on them. So next week I'm putting on a set of new 225/65R17 (same size as the Yokes) General AltiMAX RT43 tires.

They are reasonably priced yet highly rated on TireRack. I've been impressed with other recent General tires I've had on my Miatas so I'm going to give these a try on the CX-5.

I'll report back once their on and I have some experience driving with them.

Did you order the standard touring version or the grand touring version?

They are the same price but have considerably different user survey results.

Standard touring...

Basically the two versions differ in speed ratings, the standard touring T rated (to 118 mph) and the grand touring H rated (to 130 mph). The higher speed rating is achieved primarily by stabilizing the tread area with two layers of spirally wrapped polyamide instead of the T rated tires single layer. Other physical differences are the T rated tire has a tread width of 7.2 inches while the higher speed H rated tire is narrower at 6.7 inches. The rolling diameter is the same.

Interestingly, the slower T rated version (with one less layer of spirally wrapped polyamide) is warranted 10,000 additional miles (75,000 vs. 65,000 miles). While the weight ratings remain the same, the higher speed H version has a maximum inflation pressure of 51 psi (vs. 44 psi for the T rated).

Based on the narrower tread width, the narrower tire should have more resistance to hydroplaning (all else being equal) but the user survey results are opposite this.