Which car to buy: 2014 Mazda CX-5 s Grand Touring or Mazda3 s Grand Touring?

Wi24

Banned
:
MX-5 1.8i Miyako
I'm really stuck between these two options, as I'd be getting the CX-5 AWD, which isn't available to substitute for the Mazda3's FWD. I'm moving up to North Carolina, so I prefer a car that is well suited for snow and mountains that still maintains a somewhat sporty feel. I know the AWD will do more than hold its own, but I'm not sure how a FWD would do up there. I've lived in South Florida all of my life, so I really don't know if the FWD will manage well. I could really use some advice.
smile.gif

I have a CX-5 and I like it a lot, but if the only thing pushing you to the CX-5 is the AWD then I would get the 3. I have been driving FWD since 1970 and I have had a couple of AWD cars. For on road driving in snow FWD is 3 or 4 OK 5 times as good as rear wheel drive. AWD is maybe 10% better then FWD. The best thing you can do for driving in snow is run good snow tires on all 4 wheels. In my opinion the best are Nokia Hakupleada A good handling car with Hakupleadas on it is so much fun in snow you will get up early on snow days so you can get on the roads before they are ruined by plows.
One thing to remember is you don't want to go faster and better then you can stop.
BTW some parts of NC get 50 inches of snow a year, Other parts 1 inch.

Well tires are important but AWD is a extra bonus for traction. Also depends on your preference if you want a compact car or a compact SUV...