Need Help with Choosing New CX-5 Tires

madcar11

:
2013 cx 5 GT
Hi all,*

I am a forum newbie. All forums. lol.

I have a 2013 cx-5 GT. The stock tires are shot at only 38,000k. Bummer. I find all the info on what tires are best, overwhelming! There are not a lot of options to stick to my stock size of 225/55/19. The reviews are mixed. What do you have on yours? What would you recommend?*

I am willing to switch out to 17" . If I go that route, what would you suggest?*

Last but not least, (remember, i am car challenged), what are my options for 17" rims? Do they have to be 114?*

Thank you for your help and support! This domestic diva apppreciates it more than you know!

If you have the 19 inch wheels already, keep those, you can look for 235 55 r 19 wheels, there will be more options
and the fitment overall diameter is still fine.
http://www.tirerack.com/tires/TireS...dth=235/&ratio=55&diameter=19&wtpackage=false

Actually, it is even possible to fit up to 255 wide tires on the stock 7 inch wide rims.
just use tis tire size calculator to see fitments:
http://www.1010tires.com/tools/tire-size-calculator

using 225 55 r 19 as a oem value
or 225 65 r 17 wich is the 17 inch oem tire size.

As for the rim information:

19x7: is the diameter (19) and width (7) in inches

offset: is more complicated to explain in words, but is roughly the distance between the absolute center of a wheel and the actual contact point of this wheel to the hub. this value is important for the wheel to be properly situated in the fender (not too close to the brakes and not to close to the fender to avoid rubbing) Its important to take into account that using a different wheel width will affect what offset is still ok. (generally speaking for mazda the OEM offset is about 50mm , and aftermarket wheels with the same width as the OEM can safely range in offset between 35 and 55 (usually looks, and handles better with a smaller value (closer to the fender).
offsetdiagram1.jpg