Rear Caliper Allen bolt stripped.....Need help asap

:
02 Turbo Midnight Blue Protege 5
Ok I'm doing my coilovers and I'm on my last one in the rear. The thing is the allen bolt in the caliper is stripped so I can't release the piston to get the caliper off of the rotor. Does anyone have ideas how to compress the piston so I can pull the caliper off of the rotor? Please reply ASAP because I need the car for tomorrow. Thanks in advance!!!

You can try to remove the adjustment gear from the other side with a magnet and use it.

I have heard of actually rotating the piston with pliers,... apparently it works,...

EDIT: I've never tried pliers before but I could see it screwing something up,... and you may not be able to do that with the rotor in the way.

Last edited:
You can try to remove the adjustment gear from the other side with a magnet and use it.

I have heard of actually rotating the piston with pliers,... apparently it works,...

What adjustment gear? I guess, if I have a strong enough magnet I can turn the allen bolt. The thing is I would use the pliers but how would I get to the piston if its still on the rotor? Thanks for the idea.

yeah I did, the thing is that the allen bolt is stripped or should it spin freely when the e-brake is released?

huh I heard about that and someone else mentioned you get put the bolt on the opposite side. Ok I engaged the e-brake again and released it and it released the brakes and I slid the caliper off. Happy Jackie Chan said something or I would have not tried the e-brake again. Thanks!

huh I heard about that and someone else mentioned you get put the bolt on the opposite side. Ok I engaged the e-brake again and released it and it released the brakes and I slid the caliper off. Happy Jackie Chan said something or I would have not tried the e-brake again. Thanks!

OK, that makes sense,... normally the caliper just rotates off, it's getting it back on with new pads that the gear becomes an issue.