CorkSport.com is MAZDA PERFORMANCE!
CorkSport.com is MAZDA PERFORMANCE!
Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456
Results 76 to 89 of 89

Thread: Post Pics of your Aftermarket Mazda5 Stereo Setups

  1. #76
    Registered Member torquelover's Avatar

    2015 Soul Red 6 Sport Auto 2016 Accord EX Auto

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Chicago Suburbs
    Posts
    362
    Quote Originally Posted by Whitegrill5 View Post
    I ordered the Stereo from the link I provided earlier in this thread, it was plug and play, unplug the factory stereo and plug in the new one, the CanBus Adapter allows the steering wheel controls to still work, when you put the car in reverse the Sound mutes and the Infared Backup (Night Vision) backup camera automatically comes on and displays.
    I wanted a unit to look like it had been installed at the factory. I wired thinking I might later put a Bose Spare tire Subwoofer in, but the sound is so good (much more bass than factory) I don't think I need a Sub Woofer with this unit.








    Does your display in the dash still work at all?

  2. #77
    Registered Member


    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    42
    I have the same question. I'm researching a head unit to replace the stock radio in my 2013 Sport, and there's plenty of info about retaining steering wheel button function, but very little about the dash display. For some head units, not all, Crutchfield shows an adaptor that says you will lose the dash display...

    Specifically, I'm looking for a CarPlay-compatible deck with its own GPS antenna, which means mostly Kenwood or Pioneer.

    ETA - I love the OEM look of those decks like yours. I wish the faceplate with knobs and buttons was available separately, and able to be programmed for any head unit.
    Last edited by acb13013; 07-10-2016 at 06:10 PM.

  3. #78
    Registered Member

    Mazda 5 Sport

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5
    Thread revival!


  4. #79
    Registered Member

    2007 Mazda5 GT Manual

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    1
    Very nice!
    Where did you get it in black?

  5. #80
    Registered Member Whitegrill5's Avatar

    Mazda 5 Sport

    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    21
    I just happened to see torquelover had asked a question about if the display in the dash still works. It does display things, but different things than it did with the factory radio. For example when you have the radio on, instead of being a redundant display of the radio station it displays "Radio On" When you are running the GPS it displays "GPS On", there are a few other things it displays as well can't remember exactly but recall something for when you are playing from the DVD player, and also from the USB feed. The only minor thing I have seen is if you are listening to the radio , then you launch the GPS, which I do for my daily drive, the dash display shows "GPS On" and since you don't have the receiver screen on your touch screen you really don't know what station you have, since I only listen to about 2 stations anyway it is not a big deal (I know from the sound of the program if it is "Bob and Tom" or "NPR Radio". When on GPS you can change the radio station either using the steering wheel control or the tuning knob on the radio. Of course you also have the option of pressing SRC to go to your FM tuning, set your station, then press Nav to bring you back to your GPS.

    Something neat that happens if you have your GPS running and you receive a phone call, your music (radio/usb/dvd) mutes, display will go into split screen GPS on one side, and your Phone Display on the other so you can see who is calling but at the same time see any turns you may have coming up in your GPS.

    Music also mutes when you put car in reverse, backup camera automatically powers up and switches to display on screen, then when you shift back into drive goes back to what it was displaying/playing (ie Music and GPS), to install it is all plug and play with existing wire harness plug ins (didn't cut any wires), and all completely reversible if you ever wanted to go back to factory radio.

    Someone else had mentioned about the Mazda Logo displaying during boot up, this has that as well (in fact I can change the logo in a menu to make it anything I want from a menu as the brains of this is the same as used in many other chassis/cases to fit vehicles perfectly, if you search S100 you will find other versions of this for other model cars)

    I still love this radio, the sound quality is much better than the factory head unit, it has a sub output which I ran wires to the back when I was running wires for the backup camera, but ended up sounding so much better I decided I didn't need a sub after the install. If something were to major fail on this I would likely get same model to replace it.

    By the Way this Unit runs on Windows CE instead of Android (like some of the similar units), even though I run Android on my phones I am fine with the radio running Windows CE, still compatible with phone, no issues.

  6. #81
    Registered Member Whitegrill5's Avatar

    Mazda 5 Sport

    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    21
    I just noticed today that when I have the radio playing without running other accessories such as GPS, DVD, TV, Web Browser, etc the Band (AM/FM) along with the Radio Frequency displays in the Dashboard Screen.

  7. #82
    Registered Member

    2006 mazda 5

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Buffalo NY
    Posts
    20
    Has anyone tried to go the tablet route. I have a few at home and would have everything I need with a tablet in dash.

    Anyone given it a shot?

  8. #83
    Registered Member

    2008, Mazda 5 Grand Touring, LFF7

    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Location
    Latvia, Riga (Europe)
    Posts
    7
    im using Android about 2 years



    https://youtu.be/BYGAV7qKKmM

  9. #84
    Registered Member

    Mazda 5

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    117

  10. #85
    Registered Member

    2004 Mazda 3

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    atlanta, ga
    Posts
    2
    Which brand/model is this?You have a link? My stereo died. Thanks!

  11. #86
    Registered Member

    Mazda 5

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    117
    I just spoke with the seller in China, he is willing to ship directly from China to your door. You can contact him directly.

    Seller Wechat: 13539983574
    He can read/type English.

    * I am not affiliated with the seller. All buying will not go through me.*

  12. #87
    Registered Member Silentnoise713's Avatar

    2008 Mazda5 Grand Touring; 2009 Honda Fit Sport/Nav MT

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    2,586
    Quote Originally Posted by asian_xl View Post
    Hey Asian_xl, Can you give some updates on how and what you like and dislike about the android unit so far? I'm really debating one just to update the dash. I would love to have it display Torque gauges all the time and flip between Google maps or some music app. Loading some emulators for the kids might be fun too.


    My biggest pet-peeve with android unit or any PC based system is the boot up time. How long does is take to boot up on a cold start? I've read that there's a sleep option now where if the unit is off for less than 1hr (not sure on duration??), it can boot up much faster - is this true? The video below shows this but doesn't have details. Does it have an internal battery or draws more dark current from the car's main battery to stay alive - if so for how long? Does the touch screen feel like glass or can you feel the cheap touch overlay? There are various price points due to hardware specs but the CPU and RAM specs look good on the top end units. Do you find quad core 1.5GHz and 2GB RAM responsive/fast enough? It uses DDR3 ram, do you know if it is upgradeable, max capacity? Does it have HD radio? Did you get add any options that's worth the money (DAB+, TPMS, etc.)?


    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D8Ngj2nqg3o&t=1495s



    8.1 https://www.seicane.com/android-gps-...-support-h684?
    9.0 https://www.seicane.com/aftermarket-...hoC5_MQAvD_BwE
    Stuff for sale:
    YellowSpeed DPS Coilovers - cheap



    ^http://www.wingood.com/flagselect.asp

    My Thread
    ^http://www.mazdas247.com/forum/showt...oise713-Thread

  13. #88
    Registered Member Silentnoise713's Avatar

    2008 Mazda5 Grand Touring; 2009 Honda Fit Sport/Nav MT

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    2,586
    Hot start time: average 2s
    Warm start time: average 31s
    Cold start time: average 32s
    For anyone curious, I missed this tidbit of details on the 9.0 system. Question still remains what is the off duration to qualify Hot vs Warm vs Cold...? Still, 32s cold start will feel like an eternity to me..


    Also, no HD radio - bummer for US folks.

    From what I read based off 'other' android based units, RAM is soldered on to the board and not easily user upgradeable. Makes sense since the unit housing is pretty compact, roughly the size of a single DIN. Better off buying the latest unit for latest hardware. Also, it looks like they are slowly releasing android units with 4GB RAM (other competitors are 4GB RAM). I'd wait for that... 2GB seems short by today's standards.
    Sigs are visible only in your first post on a page. To change your thread display preferences, click here and enable 'Always Show Signature'.

  14. #89
    Registered Member

    Mazda 5

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    117
    Quote Originally Posted by Silentnoise713 View Post
    Torque gauges all the time
    You should forget about it, it is not that great, words are small, focus on the road instead


    Quote Originally Posted by Silentnoise713 View Post
    My biggest pet-peeve with android unit or any PC based system is the boot up time. How long does is take to boot up on a cold start? I've read that there's a sleep option now where if the unit is off for less than 1hr (not sure on duration??), it can boot up much faster - is this true?
    Boot up is like normal android phone. I have no problem with it. By the time I leave my parking lot gate, the system is ready.



    Quote Originally Posted by Silentnoise713 View Post
    The video below shows this but doesn't have details. Does it have an internal battery or draws more dark current from the car's main battery to stay alive - if so for how long? Does the touch screen feel like glass or can you feel the cheap touch overlay?
    It has no battery and it shouldn't have it anyway, you have a big ass 60ah battery beside the engine already. The system shuts down entirely when the engine is off. The touch screen is not hard glass, but it's capacitive screen, so controlling is good, but expect a lot of finger print.


    Quote Originally Posted by Silentnoise713 View Post
    Do you find quad core 1.5GHz and 2GB RAM responsive/fast enough? It uses DDR3 ram, do you know if it is upgradeable, max capacity? Does it have HD radio? Did you get add any options that's worth the money (DAB+, TPMS, etc.)?
    - 2GB ram and 32GB rom are more than enough for me, I don't play games with it, google stuff, music are good. It is the launcher that sucks more resource, but the interface looks great, no complaint. It is not PC, dont expect it is upgradable.
    - No HD radio
    - Sound quality is worse than stock unit, I upgraded with Pioneer compact amp 45w x 4 and 40w speakers, it sounds so awesome now.
    - TPMS, it gives USB errors, typical android bug. Get the one that put on the dash (solar power version).

Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456

Similar Threads

  1. aftermarket car stereo picks (not pics)
    By MrsZR7 in forum Protege5
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 02-06-2013, 02:58 PM
  2. Post your aftermarket head units and audio setups
    By mike000g in forum Mazda3 Infotainment
    Replies: 59
    Last Post: 10-28-2010, 03:49 PM
  3. Pics of Aftermarket Stereo in MS3?
    By CivicSI<Speed3 in forum Mazda3 Infotainment
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-04-2010, 11:55 PM
  4. Post pics of your System/Stereo setup!!!
    By blackdragon11 in forum Pics & Builds
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-29-2009, 10:34 PM
  5. Post Stereo install pics
    By FunkyBuddha in forum Pics & Builds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-09-2004, 04:24 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •