2003 PR5 w/ Sportshift needs tranny, any protege FN4A-EL works?

Jarnutt

I never post here, because I'm a ninja with the search button, and I'm a mechanic/tuner by trade, except this time I'm stumped, and everyone I ask had no actual experience with swapping non sportshift autos into 2002.5 and up cars equipped with it.

My problem started with a noise under deceleration only, a buzzing/knocking that went only with the speed of the wheel, not the engine, and even when I put the car into neutral at any speed. I put the car off the lift and ran it in drive, and the knocking could be heard clearly in the case just above the diff, but was quiet under cruise or acceleration. No clues as to what was causing it, maybe a bearing was out, maybe a spider gear or the carrier was busted, all I know is that there are some small metal flakes and some fingernail clipping sized pieces of metal in the pan. So I'm calling this trans busted, even if I fix it, that s*** in probably floating around the valve body, pump, everywhere in there.

Searching on this forum, I have yet to get a clear answer as to whether or not ANY FN4A-EL trans will do, some say yes, some say no, there's nobody I can find that had ACTUALLY tried it. I talked to a friend at Mazda and he have me some insight but it still isn't an actual yes or no.