CorkSport.com is MAZDA PERFORMANCE!
CorkSport.com is MAZDA PERFORMANCE!
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 23 of 23

Thread: Dash Light Illumination Not Working

  1. #16
    Asian Persuasion <>< Hank3's Avatar
    Contributor

    2010 Mazda5 GT | 2014 Kia Soul !

    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    4,626
    Used fog light switch:

    http://www.mazmart.com/ItemDetail.aspx?id=747

    Or check the many part-out threads in the classifieds. There's usually one or two for sale. But make sure you get the P5/MP3/MSP one as it's amber and not green.



  2. #17
    Registered Member

    2002 Mazda Protege5

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Barberton
    Posts
    10
    Thanks guys. Definitely just going to try the wire trick and make sure thats the problem.

  3. #18
    Registered Member

    2002 Mazda Protege5

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Barberton
    Posts
    10
    The fog lights work, its the dimmer dial which I noticed is not lighting up.

  4. #19
    Registered Member speed1585's Avatar

    03 MSP spicy

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Fairfield, Ca
    Posts
    337
    I know its been awhile but did you ever find a resolution to this issue? I am havjng the same prob now

    2003 Spicy Orange 1585- Injen CAI-SLS Midpipe-8psi WGA
    2005 3s Hatch- Stock with zero problems

  5. #20
    Registered Member P-Funk!'s Avatar

    Lancer Ralliart Sportback

    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Chesapeake Beach, MD
    Posts
    3,291
    If you can, just jumper the switch - i would just do that - i always had the lights on their brightest (and they were still kinda' dim)...
    I used to have a
    Black Mica Protege5
    Mods:
    MP3 ECU
    Hawk Pads
    OBX Header
    AWR Mounts
    Tokico Blues
    Eibach Pro Kit
    Underdrive Pulley
    Kartboy Bushings
    ThermoBlok Spacers
    Kumho ECSTA AST tires
    Fabricated Ground Wire Kit
    VTCS-Less Intake (Ported)
    Fabricated SRI w/ K&N Filter
    Fog lights on with parking lights


    Audio:
    Kenwood Head Unit
    Kenwood Mono Amp
    Custom 10" Enclosures
    Boston Accoustic 1" Tweets
    Rockford/Fosgate Punch 50

  6. #21
    Registered Member speed1585's Avatar

    03 MSP spicy

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Fairfield, Ca
    Posts
    337
    Ya i tried to jumper switch but it didnt work
    Sigs are visible only in your first post on a page. To change your thread display preferences, click here and enable 'Always Show Signature'.

  7. #22
    Registered Member

    Mazda, Protege5, Hatchback, 2003

    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    1

    Same problem - exact fix?

    Quote Originally Posted by pcb View Post
    I'm almost sure you can just run that wire that you mentioned, between the terminals,... that will give you full brightness but it won't be adjustable. The rheostat may very well work but you need to know the number of watts it would need to handle. The rheostat is just an adjustable resistor in series with all the panel lights which works but creates a lot of heat compared to our specialized dimmer circuit. Our circuit uses transistors and a rheostat uses finely coiled resistance wire.
    If I were you I'd short the contacts giving you full brightness and time to find one at a junker and maybe have it mailed to you. (you might need to disconnect the dimmer dial before you jumper it because it's dimming your other lights in a weird way).

    Hi, I am having the same problem as mentioned above. Changed out radio etc. Instrument cluster and air cond. controls do not light up, neither do the running tail lights. Have not found a fuse blown either.

    Do I need to replace the whole dimmer switch apparatus? Or just the dial part of it? The part that snaps into place.

    Thank you!

  8. #23
    The Diagram Dude pcb's Avatar

    2002 mazda protege 5

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    ontario, canada
    Posts
    3,757
    If your taillights are out as well, then you've got a blown tail fuse... #15.



    If it's not your fuse, then it's your TNS relay.

    You probably shorted out a wire during your install and blew that fuse. It's pretty hard to blow a relay and it most likely didn't just happen to fail during your install.
    Last edited by pcb; 01-11-2018 at 07:35 AM.
    The Diagram Dude

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. is it possible to change the dash illumination...
    By SurlySays in forum Mazda2 Lounge
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 01-19-2012, 01:20 PM
  2. parking light/dim brake light not working
    By THExDRIZZLE in forum Mazda3 Lounge
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-07-2010, 06:23 AM
  3. Mazda3 dash illumination help needed
    By solort in forum Mazda3 Infotainment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-16-2009, 05:42 PM
  4. Illumination Light Wires
    By DeadGeneration in forum Protege5
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-21-2005, 02:38 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •