Camp-Bell: "Big Bird" PR5 Build Thread

What next?

• Total voters

Camp-Bell

:
Mazda Protege 5
My introduction to serious posting lol! Yah! Tell ya a little about myself; I'm an apprentice Auto Technician living in Edmonton, AB working at Toyota.

So I'm building up an N/A Yellow PR5 on a budget. These cars are awesome, I've never owned a sportier 4cylinder vehicle thus I've decided to mod/restore my PR5 to near new status or as much as possible depending on the budget.

Mods in progress: AWR F+R 88 duro mounts
AWR Trans + Side mount inserts 88 duro
OBX header
OBX cat-back
F1 racing stage 3 6-puck copper-"miba" clutch
New OEM flywheel
Pilot+Release bearing

Will update with pics of progress tommorow, hopefully will have completed clutch and flywheel tomorrow. Exhaust will be Friday. PSYCHED!

Thanks for the "winner winner chicken dinner!" @Midnight

Mounts are done already haha its so stiff hahaha, clutch/flywheel should go quick because I've pulled another transmission already.

Havent got a chance to drive it yet, just finished with them today. I got a piece of shop towel stuck in one of the fuel lines in front of the rear mount while i was trying to keep sh*t out. Its the fuel rail line I'm hoping i can disconnect it higher up and start it up tomorrow to free up the paper towel :s (I hope it comes out clean)

That rear mount was such a b**** I spent 3 hours trying to get the harness shroud off. I ended up using a 36inch Dominator Pry Bar and a hammer beating on it through wheel well near tie-rod end and from above to break the plastic around the bottom nut. So now its re-attached but only with one 10mm nut (like it should have been done from the factory)

Last edited:
Hello there and I voted for struts/coilovers unless of course you are need of replacing the bearings/front pads & rotors for obvious safety reasons.

So I got caught with pants down with the mother of all thunderstorms, got I need a garage. The trans is out and very exposed :s