CorkSport.com is MAZDA PERFORMANCE!
CorkSport.com is MAZDA PERFORMANCE!
Page 3 of 13 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 191

Thread: How-to: Permanently fix the "no A/C on fan speed 2/3" problem

  1. #31
    Registered Member


    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec
    Posts
    2,623
    Quote Originally Posted by OGLaughtzalotzz View Post
    ^x2 now fixed it up fans worked for a hot second and now no speeds work
    So now the fan doesn't work, or the A/C doesn't work?

    If the fan isn't working at all, then you might have popped the HEATER fuse (40A in the engine compartment fuse box) or the A/C fuse (15A in the in-car fuse box).

    If the fan works, but you have no A/C then you either swapped the resistors (installing the 220 Ohm in place of the 470 Ohm) or you didn't connect the ground wire.

  2. #32
    Registered Member OGLaughtzalotzz's Avatar
    Donated: $5

    2002 Mazda Protege5

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Newark, NJ
    Posts
    347
    Is there a pinout diagram for the climate control plug?

    Quote Originally Posted by bazooka joe View Post
    in the NE rust is a color!
    Fuelly
    Fuelly

  3. #33
    Registered Member


    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec
    Posts
    2,623
    Quote Originally Posted by OGLaughtzalotzz View Post
    Is there a pinout diagram for the climate control plug?
    Yup, it's in the wiring diagram manual on page 44. Here's a picture of the page (click for bigger), the connector you want is G1-01.


    And here's the color code:

  4. #34
    Registered Member OGLaughtzalotzz's Avatar
    Donated: $5

    2002 Mazda Protege5

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Newark, NJ
    Posts
    347
    All is good now. Turns out I cut a wire while I was splicing. So I spliced the 2 ends and crimped on some extra wire. No mas flickering even while switching speeds. 2 is honestly the best speed. Not too much and not as weak as one.
    Sigs are visible only in your first post on a page. To change your thread display preferences, click here and enable 'Always Show Signature'.

  5. #35
    MartyBalls Balls's Avatar

    03 Protege5

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    342
    Did this the other day, no more flicky light. Good write up and my wife thanks you because now I may let her turn on the AC!

  6. #36
    Registered Member chubhawk's Avatar

    03 MSP

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    whittier
    Posts
    261
    Sub
    [IMG]300PIXELS[/IMG]

  7. #37
    Registered Member chubhawk's Avatar

    03 MSP

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    whittier
    Posts
    261
    Lol my local radio shack doesn't caryy 200ohm just 220 can I use that lol
    Sigs are visible only in your first post on a page. To change your thread display preferences, click here and enable 'Always Show Signature'.

  8. #38
    Registered Member


    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec
    Posts
    2,623
    ^You can always use two 100 Ohm resistors in series, but 220 will work fine. I always thought 200 was a standard value...

  9. #39
    Registered Member JiggaBro's Avatar

    Mazda Protege5

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    LA, CA
    Posts
    500
    Quote Originally Posted by OGLaughtzalotzz View Post
    2 is honestly the best speed. Not too much and not as weak as one.
    im thinking we should have a poll vote for what the best speed is. so far 2 is winning!
    siggg

  10. #40
    Registered Member


    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec
    Posts
    2,623
    Quote Originally Posted by JiggaBro View Post
    im thinking we should have a poll vote for what the best speed is. so far 2 is winning!
    TBH on my trip up north this weekend, I used 2 all the way there and back. But that was just to get rid of the humidity, 3 is still the best when it's hot out.

  11. #41
    Registered Member chubhawk's Avatar

    03 MSP

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    whittier
    Posts
    261
    Quote Originally Posted by CheeseHelmet View Post
    ^You can always use two 100 Ohm resistors in series, but 220 will work fine. I always thought 200 was a standard value...
    ohh very nice i assumed i could use 2 100ohms but wasnt sure its been a while since iv toyed with resistors will go back tomarrow and pick up the 220 ohm and finish this project temp hit 92 here in cali thats hot for us lol
    Sigs are visible only in your first post on a page. To change your thread display preferences, click here and enable 'Always Show Signature'.

  12. #42
    Registered Member


    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3
    Worked like a charm!

  13. #43
    Registered Member zhy's Avatar

    I aint even mad!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    656
    Not sure why this isnt stickied yet
    Follow my build/progress thread here!


    STICKY How-to by me : Custom LED cluster here!

  14. #44
    No words bazooka joe's Avatar
    Donated: $40
    Miata & NEMOC Moderator

    2016 Miata Club, 2004 MSM, 2014 CX5 Touring, Honda 1976 XL 175

    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    wbee ma to NC 2016 Jinba ittai
    Posts
    21,342
    awesome! i started ny car the other day (its a winter duty only car now) and i flipped the ac on and was reminded that my fan speeds were not working....i'd do this tomorrow but i'm only using heat these days... good job!

  15. #45
    Registered Member mexicansoljah81's Avatar

    '13 Mazdaspeed3

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Lacey, WA
    Posts
    308
    Quote Originally Posted by bazooka joe View Post
    awesome! i started ny car the other day (its a winter duty only car now) and i flipped the ac on and was reminded that my fan speeds were not working....i'd do this tomorrow but i'm only using heat these days... good job!
    its the factory harness to the AC fan switches. Even the switch itself. I bypassed the barness and just used splitters to get all my fan speeds to work properly. I think i just placed it all tight and i had some wires come loose. Gotta go back in there for it to be a final job. Never will have to worry about it again. So far so good. 4 is pumping cold air. Love that speed.
    2013 Mazdaspeed3 with Tech Pkg

Page 3 of 13 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Front wiper "intermittent speed" no longer works
    By slavrenz in forum Protege5
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 04-14-2010, 12:32 AM
  2. 2007 Mazda5 "sways" running over bumps at highway speed
    By ohaegs5 in forum Mazda5 Wheels, Tires, Brakes & Suspension
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-06-2010, 05:44 PM
  3. 2004 Mazda3 "S" Sedan 5-speed FOR SALE!
    By YouFailMe77 in forum Completed Transactions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-13-2004, 01:42 AM
  4. Replies: 35
    Last Post: 09-28-2004, 02:11 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •