CX-5 vs Tiguan and Pricing, Canada

sc84

Hello all, I'm relatively new to buying vehicles and just wanted a second opinion on some quotes.

My lease is up on my VW 08 City Golf and I'm looking at either a 2012 Tiguan or 2013 Mazda CX-5.

The quotes they gave me were as follows:

2012 Tiguan, 2.0 TSI Comfortline, 6sp auto w/ 4MOTION
MSRP 34,775
+Tech Package 2,300
+Sport Package 1,700
+Connectivity Package 675
Total 39,450 + taxes and fees (CAD)

2013 Mazda CX-5, 2.0L I4 6sp auto AWD w/ Skyactiv
GT, Technology Package
MSRP 33,890 (CAD)

Was just wondering what you guys think about the differences between these two crossovers.

Thanks!

Last edited:
I considered the Tiguan as well before making my decision to get my CX-5 GT with Tech. It was really close. They both handle really well but I just think the CX5 offers better bang for the buck, better fuel economy, slightly larger, and looks better IMO. In the end, the CX5 suits my needs better.

I have a Tiguan (2.0l, 168 hp diesel, 4 Motion)
I have been more unlucky than the majority of Tiguan owners, but nevertheless, there are quite a few people who have had similar problems, so they are not 'one offs'. I won't mention other forums, but I am sure a search will point you to problem pages. Anyway, this is what has happened to me. I bought it from new and it is now just over 3 and a half years old with only 22000 miles. The list is not in chronological order.
1. Automatic brake stuck on in a heavy traffic (two lane) when I was taking the car back for the problem of it not releasing. Some sensor/switch 'under' clutch pedal was the fault.
2. Fuel flap needed something new as it kept flicking open when driving. New mechanism needed.
3. Handles on some doors stuck open. Needed attention.
4. CD swallowed (when only 3 weeks old and also display went dim).
5. Boot catch made it difficult to open - needed adjusting.
6. One alloy needed changing. But to be fair, I've needed that done on my Mazda 3.